/build/static/layout/Breadcrumb_cap_w.png

Autodesk Design Review 2011

Greetings:

I'm working on deploying a DWF viewer to our Citrix Environment to support the newer DWF formats. I had setteled on Autodesk Design Review 2010, and just as I was about to unleash it, I noticed that 2011 was out. We're all here becuase we like automated deployments, so I figured I would share my findings as one of the prereqs gave me an incredible headache!

The pain was coming from Visual C++ 2008 SP1. The installer would scream over and over that this was not installed and tell me to go to Microsoft and download it. So I would go to microsoft.com and download and install. I rebooted, reinstalled -- nothing. The installer screamed every time.

I fired up Orca and figured out that the MSI was looking for the application {1F1C2DFC-2D24-3E06-BCB8-725134ADF989}. A quick look at my server showed that no application with this GUID was installed. In fact, the VC++ 2008 SP1 GUID is {7D0EF497-FEE7-47A0-9F1F-98305491332A}!

A quick goole pointed me to a page that descibed the various updates to VC++ 2008 and their GUIDs. I eventually stumbled across [url=http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?familyid=2051A0C1-C9B5-4B0A-A8F5-770A549FD78C&displaylang=en]this page[/url]. This is VC++ 2008 SP1 with some patches applied.

I thought I'd share and possibly save someone else some headaches.

0 Comments   [ + ] Show comments

Answers (11)

Posted by: anonymous_9363 11 years ago
Red Belt
0
Nice one! Perhaps you could post this as a 'Note' in the 'Package KB'?
Posted by: squeakstar 11 years ago
Orange Senior Belt
0
Any idea how your experience may help in deploying DWF Vewer 2011 via standard group policy methods?

i found DWF Vewer 2011 a pain in the rear becuase it needed additional components all over the place. It's not a massively used application and i wanted to let users install as needed but it seemed i needed to give them a tutorial just to install it and all the other microsoft bumph too...
Posted by: anonymous_9363 11 years ago
Red Belt
0
Couldn't you just add the MSIs/MSTs alongside the main MSI/MST? Or, perhaps, [arguably] more elegantly - since I'd imagine some of the pre-reqs would be used for other apps - set up separate GPOs for the pre-reqs and use nested groups?
Posted by: Chir 11 years ago
Senior Yellow Belt
0
ORIGINAL: squeakstar

Any idea how your experience may help in deploying DWF Vewer 2011 via standard group policy methods?

i found DWF Vewer 2011 a pain in the rear becuase it needed additional components all over the place. It's not a massively used application and i wanted to let users install as needed but it seemed i needed to give them a tutorial just to install it and all the other microsoft bumph too...


If you open up the MSI with Orca and look at the LaunchCondition table, you can see all of the pre-reqs that it needs. It seems to need the following:
* Visual C++ 2008 SP1 ATL Must be installed
* Visual C++ 2005 SP1 Must be installed
* OS Must be Win7, Vista, or XP (However, I can confirm that it installs on Server 2003)
* User must be an Administrator
* Dot Net 3.5 SP1 Needs to be installed
* IE Must be 7.0 or Greater
* DWF Viewer 6.5 must not be installed
* DWF Viewer 7 Must not be installed

As said above, you could just push the pre-reqs to the machines before you push ADR2011. That should allow you to deploy it via Group Policy.
Posted by: squeakstar 11 years ago
Orange Senior Belt
0
Thanks Chir and VBScab. I keep hearing about this Orca thingy but never sure what it is, or how to make use of it or when. [:D]
Posted by: Chir 11 years ago
Senior Yellow Belt
0
Orca is a tool to edit the raw database that makes up MSI files. It's very confusing (or at least it is to me!), but it definitely has it's uses. It will also allow you to make a Transform that will modify an MSI so you don't actually have to make changes to the MSI directly.

You can get it from Microsoft by downloading the Windows Installer SDK.
Posted by: squeakstar 11 years ago
Orange Senior Belt
0
ha just been googling actually - everyone's moaned about the size of the sdk just to get Orca
Posted by: anonymous_9363 11 years ago
Red Belt
0
I think the WI SDK is available as a separate d/l. You just have to look a bit harder. :)
Posted by: squeakstar 11 years ago
Orange Senior Belt
0
will do [:)]

is there multiple versions available for different OSs, and does it matter? Our production servers are 2003, but i use 2008r2 from my technet subs as a workstation to do all my faffing and labs stuff on...
Posted by: anonymous_9363 11 years ago
Red Belt
0
Does it matter? Not really, for the WI SDK, anyway. The Platform SDKs now tend to be labelled as suitable for the server OSes.
Posted by: perrofelix 11 years ago
Yellow Belt
0
I got the installer working with Citrix (via Installation Mgr) by using the VC++ 2008 SP1 media out of the "support" folder instead of pulling it separately from MS after running into the same problem.

Getting the optional companion DWG Viewer (TrueView 2011) working is a whole other story, and I have had little success so far. Many of the prerequisites are the same, that's not the problem. It installs ok, but then it just works for the account that installs it.
Rating comments in this legacy AppDeploy message board thread won't reorder them,
so that the conversation will remain readable.
 
This website uses cookies. By continuing to use this site and/or clicking the "Accept" button you are providing consent Quest Software and its affiliates do NOT sell the Personal Data you provide to us either when you register on our websites or when you do business with us. For more information about our Privacy Policy and our data protection efforts, please visit GDPR-HQ