/bundles/itninjaweb/img/Breadcrumb_cap_w.png
The documentation says you have to set
REINSTALL=ALL and REINSTALLMODE=omus
if you want to apply a patch in silent mode.
Why? What will happen if you don't set the properties?

Thanks.
0 Comments   [ - ] Hide Comments

Comments

Please log in to comment

Rating comments in this legacy AppDeploy message board thread won't reorder them,
so that the conversation will remain readable.
Answer this question or Comment on this question for clarity

Answers

0
ORIGINAL: Nicklas
The documentation says you have to set
REINSTALL=ALL and REINSTALLMODE=omus
if you want to apply a patch in silent mode.
Why? What will happen if you don't set the properties?


You always have to set those to properties when applying a patch.
REINSTALL=ALL means that all features should be reinstalled when the pach is applied. If you know which features get patched, you can change this to REINSTALL=<featurename>.
REINSTALLMODUS=omus tells the installer to overwrite older files, and to reinstall all registry keys and shortcuts.

If you don't set these two properties, the patch will not update anything. A patching is basically a reinstallation of the product, but with updated info from the patch.
Answered 03/22/2006 by: sikkert
Orange Senior Belt

Please log in to comment
0
Thanks again. [:)]
Answered 03/22/2006 by: Nicklas
Senior Yellow Belt

Please log in to comment