Issue:

 If you have recently upgraded the K1000 Appliance or have received the support of a KACE Engineer to perform maintenance (or other operations) on your Appliance database; this "Alert" message may be present on the HOME screen:

*UPDATE* If you have recently update your Appliance to version 6.0.xxxxx then you can also expect the message to look like the one below:


  This "Alert" does not indicate that there are additional concerns or issues from the upgrade or the Engineer work that may have been performed.

  This "Alert" simply indicates that there was a comparative match of the previous appliance backup settings of the k1_dbdata.gz files (i.e. 20130219_k1_dbdata.gz) and that there was a size variance.

    This "Alert" could also be the result from a recent large import or addition of data into the Appliance. The new addition of this data into the Appliance could make a "size difference" in the comparison analysis, thus, causing the "Alert" to occur since the change was detected by the 5.4 Appliance version.

Noting the scenarios above this "Alert" can be expected.

 

This may also be indicated in the Backup Logs:

Resolution:

~ the resolution will require that you allow the backups to complete and supersede older ones until they begin to match and eliminate the current alert message ~

"How To" Steps:

First, perform a backup of the K1000 Appliance.

Previous Version to Appliance 6.0.xxxxx

K1000 Settings--> Control Panel [tab]--> Backup and Restore--> [edit mode]--> (click) Run Backup

Appliance version 6.0.xxxxx and beyond

K1000 Settings--> Control Panel [tab]--> Backup Settings--> (click) Run Now

 - this will start the nightly backup process and make you a new one

 - the backup process time will vary depending on the size of the backup and the operations of the Appliance

 (KACE recommends that you check your backups regularly to ensure completion - See "Additional Notes" below for instructions on how)

* This backup and future backups will superseded the ones saved on the Appliance. Over time and depending on your Appliance backup settings. (i.e. 2 monthly and 3 daily) they will be replaced *

  Some customers will see this automatically change near the ending/beginning of the month, since the Appliance will most likely record a monthly/daily at the end of the calendar month and the "new" monthly/daily at the beginning of the calendar month.

  It would be requested that it is allowed some time to resolve. In most situations the older backups will be superseded and in a very minimal amount of time the backups will begin to match; thus resulting in the "Alert" going away.

 

  If it appears that the issue persists beyond your Backup schedule, you have additional concerns, or you still have the "Alert" please contact technical support.

Additional Notes:

How to verify your backups are completing successfullyhttp://www.itninja.com/blog/view/how-to-verify-that-your-k1000-backup-files-are-completing-suCcessfully 

How do I contact KACE Technical Support: http://www.itninja.com/blog/view/kace-how-do-i-contact-kace-technical-support