/build/static/layout/Breadcrumb_cap_w.png

Client still shows application after deleting an Application / Package?

Hi,

I sequenced an application and deployed it. There was a problem with it so I decided to start over. I deleted the application and the package via the managment console.

I created the package again but I am having trouble because the client still "sees" the original application as if it was cached.

I have rebooted the client PC, I have refreshed server and applications from the client but it still "sees" the old deleted version.

The only way I could find to purge the bad version of the application from the client was to manually deleted it, but I have many clients that "cached" the old/bad version.

Is there a simpler way to force a TRUE refresh than manually deleting the applications from each client?

Any assistance you can offer is appreciated!

Thanks!

0 Comments   [ + ] Show comments

Answers (8)

Posted by: Rheuvel 11 years ago
Brown Belt
0
Did you just delete it or unload it first? With no client or anything available I can't look it up myself, but I found this somewhere else:

Unload / Erase / Delete them (in that order - this should remove all data that belongs to the old package)

I'm pretty sure about the unload option though (not so sure about Erase, can't rememer the erase option?!), always use that first before deleting anything!
Posted by: snj2000 11 years ago
Orange Belt
0
Hmm, well I think that is my question? I successfully deleted the application from the client end but I have many clients. Does EVERY client have to "Unload, Delete"?

Is there no way from the console for me to get rid of an application so that it no longer will appear in their client instead of me instructing all of my userbase to do the "Unload/Delete" from their client?

Hope that clears up what I am asking.

Thanks for your help!
Posted by: Rheuvel 11 years ago
Brown Belt
0
Almost anything can be done through sftray.exe and/or sftmime.exe on a command line. Try /hlp or /help or /? to figure out what your exact options are. There should be an unload command.
Posted by: snj2000 11 years ago
Orange Belt
0
Thanks, I will look at the "sftray.exe and/or sftmime.exe on a command line" but just to be clear, that would be run from the CLIENT computers, and not from my AppV Server?

What I am trying to find is a way from my AppV server's Management Console to force my many client computers to "refresh" in such a way so that applications that I have deleted at the AppV Server, will no longer appear in their client's application list.

OR

Is there no way to do that from the AppV Server end which means that they all have to do the unload/ delete from their client end?

Again, thanks for your patience with me, I don't think I have been clear on what I was looking to do. [&o]
Posted by: Rheuvel 11 years ago
Brown Belt
0
Actually I have no clue... I've only worked with App-V distribution through SCCM so far. Worst case scenario is: you have to push the command line to every client with some other distribution tool.

However, take a look at follwing page, all the sftmime parameters are there. Besides the UNLOAD command, UNPUBLISH sounds interesting as well:
http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc817090.aspx


[edit]
Also take a look at this discussion:
http://social.technet.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/appvserverandmanagement/thread/58b4858d-b9bd-4f32-afbd-8727b2511a51
[/edit]


Good luck and please let me know what your final solution was if you solved it (so I can keep my own knowledge a bit up to date)
Posted by: juroen 11 years ago
Senior Yellow Belt
0
What might work is to change the key HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\SoftGrid\4.5\Client\AppFS\State in 0
After a reboot the cache is completely cleared.
I've encountered this issue with a number of applications (f.i. Teradata), deleting through the console did not work.
Posted by: gopi 10 years ago
Yellow Belt
0
hai guys
i wana know the clients list of the application package. please let me know it. waiting for your replies.......................
Posted by: snj2000 10 years ago
Orange Belt
0
Sorry, I don't understand your question gopi.
Rating comments in this legacy AppDeploy message board thread won't reorder them,
so that the conversation will remain readable.

Don't be a Stranger!

Sign up today to participate, stay informed, earn points and establish a reputation for yourself!

Sign up! or login

Share

 
This website uses cookies. By continuing to use this site and/or clicking the "Accept" button you are providing consent Quest Software and its affiliates do NOT sell the Personal Data you provide to us either when you register on our websites or when you do business with us. For more information about our Privacy Policy and our data protection efforts, please visit GDPR-HQ