I have a quick question for people using this product in the "standard" setup as explained in this link:

http://www.dawnstar.com.au/wpshelp/

I have been creating some .msi's from .exe's and this documentation says that I should clean my build machine after each package. I am currently running this on a VM so reverting back is not a problem but won't I lose all of my library projects that I have built since my snapshot? If I don't revert back to a snapshot I won't have a "clean image". I'm sure there is a simple explanation, thank you in advance.
0 Comments   [ + ] Show Comments

Comments

Please log in to comment

Rating comments in this legacy AppDeploy message board thread won't reorder them,
so that the conversation will remain readable.

Answers

0
Hi Chu,
When you set your VM you may have image of any operating system, ok.
When you do packaging with wise you need to take initial shapshot and final snapshot the difference is .wsi, ok & then try to edit that .wsi file and you will get .msi.

Every time you are not going to revert your PC, just go back to your Clean Maching snapshot (which you need to take before you start any packaging). I think this may be some what clear.

Thanks,
Annuj.
Answered 04/02/2010 by: ekniranjan
Purple Belt

Please log in to comment
0
Reverting the VM is necessary when you are capturing applications for repackaging.
Generally, Wise Share Point will be present on a server and capturing takes place on a clean VM., of course libraries you have set will be disappeared when you revert the VM.
Answered 04/02/2010 by: mekaywe
Brown Belt

Please log in to comment
0
Is there any reason why I would want to have my library contain historical information or should it be empty each time since I am reverting back to the clean snapshot?
Answered 04/02/2010 by: BerkApp
Senior Yellow Belt

Please log in to comment
0
What library? Why not store it on the host, share it and map a drive to it on the VM? Better yet, keep it on a network share: your server Johnnies will be back it up for you, then.
Answered 04/03/2010 by: VBScab
Red Belt

Please log in to comment
0
Yes my actual software library is intact but the project view is purged back to my snapshot. No big deal either way as it is just historical but it would be nice to see what I ran for each project.
Answered 04/05/2010 by: BerkApp
Senior Yellow Belt

Please log in to comment
Answer this question or Comment on this question for clarity