In the goal of creating a preferred user desktop, it seems that there are two ways to do it. Dropping a link in %systemdrive%\users\public\desktop seems to have the same effect as dropping it in %systemdrive%\users\default\desktop, although dropping it in public will create the link for existing profiles on the system.

Is there any other caveats here? It seems that creating the preferred links in the public desktop is the way to go (this is at system deployment time), but is there any other reason to use the default profiles space? 

0 Comments   [ + ] Show Comments

Comments

Please log in to comment

Community Chosen Answer

2

In public normal users cannot delete the icons if they do not want them if placed in default they can.  On existing machines when placed in public all user get that icon even if they have an existing profile.  On an existing machine when placed in default only new users will get that icon.

Answered 06/21/2012 by: SMal.tmcc
Red Belt

Please log in to comment

Answers

0

I work at a college and the biggest thing I found is to keep the default profile as small as possible.  We use deepfreeze so profiles are creeated everytime and the biggest time consumer of the logon process is copying the default files to the users profile.  I move everything I can to the public profile to shrink my default.

Answered 06/21/2012 by: SMal.tmcc
Red Belt

Please log in to comment
Answer this question or Comment on this question for clarity