We need to update Adobe Reader and Acrobat from 7.0.9 to 7.1.0 which was release recently for various security issues.

As far as I know, the reader 7.1.0 only comes in a full product and does not comes with any update MSP file. I extracted an MSI from the EXE file and did a MSIEXEC /i on the 7.1.0.MSI. It uninstall the previous 7.0.9 version automatically and install the latest 7.1.0 version.. All sweet...

However, some issue if I have Acrobat 7.0.9 installed on the same system prior to the upgrade. Once I have done the above reader 7.1.0 update and the next time I start adobe acrobat 7.0.9, some sort of installation program will execute and it says "please wait while Windows configure Adobe Acrobat 7.0.9" and will ask for a reboot after. Now, users will definately panic when they see that...

I was wondering if any of you come across this and how do you tackle this program?
0 Comments   [ + ] Show Comments

Comments

Please log in to comment

Rating comments in this legacy AppDeploy message board thread won't reorder them,
so that the conversation will remain readable.

Answers

0
FWIW, having been burned by these wretched Adobe apps in the past, I now *always* uninstall previous versions before installing new. YMMV.
Answered 05/16/2008 by: VBScab
Red Belt

Please log in to comment
0
Just a bit of an update..

I find that if you have Adobe Reader 7.0.9 and Acrobat Pro/Std 7.x installed on the same workstation, the best way to tackle this is.

1. Install the Adobe Reader 7.1.0
2. Straight away, install the Acrobat Pro/Std Patch.
3. Reboot

Looks promising..
Answered 06/11/2008 by: ahcash
Orange Belt

Please log in to comment
0
Just curious...why the reboot? There is a limited number of circumstances which require one and, IMHO, should be avoided where possible.
Answered 06/12/2008 by: VBScab
Red Belt

Please log in to comment
0
Totally agree.. There are a few cases whereby after the reboot and when first login, the Acrobat dialog box came up "updating itself..." I just want to be sure to know of this problem at the first instant.
Answered 06/16/2008 by: ahcash
Orange Belt

Please log in to comment
0
The post-login progress dialog is the user-based stuff being installed, of course, so no connection with a reboot.

No worries, I was just curious as to why Adobe thinks a workstation requires a reboot for a trvial update...
Answered 06/17/2008 by: VBScab
Red Belt

Please log in to comment
Answer this question or Comment on this question for clarity