Hi folks.

I'm fairly new to the repackaging game and MSI technologies so please bear with me if this is a newbie question.

I have been tasked with uninstalling an MSI package that someone else developed (who has since left our company).
I have run the uninstallation with the msiexec /x command which does remove the software and it's associated program directory. It doesn't however remove the icon (located under the start menu) for some reason.

Is there anything that I can look at that may be causing this?

0 Comments   [ + ] Show Comments


Please log in to comment

Rating comments in this legacy AppDeploy message board thread won't reorder them,
so that the conversation will remain readable.


In the case of errors like this, the first thing to do is to run the install/uninstall with a verbose log:

MSIEXEC [/i | /x] [MSI_Name] /L*V [path_to_and_name_of_log_file]

You can then examine th eoutput to see what is happening or not, as the case may be.

My guess here is that your predecessor used a Custom Action to create the shortcuts (are they URLS, by any chance?) but omitted to create a companion uninstall Custom Action.
Answered 07/05/2007 by: VBScab
Red Belt

Please log in to comment
Hi Brett,
is this a per machine or per user install (Are the icons in the users profile or the All Users profile)?
Open the original package in ORCA and have a look at the shortcut table.
Maybe this icons were being created with a Custom Action (a script or batch etc.) without thinking of an uninstall.
However, you need to take care of this stuff with the successor version of this app (hopefully there is one).
Otherwise a startup script would do the trick also.
Regards, Nick
Answered 07/05/2007 by: nheim
Tenth Degree Black Belt

Please log in to comment
Thank you both for your replies. Much appreciated.

I've examined the MSI further and he has used a custom action to set permissions on the icons.

We use an environment whereby the start menu is re-directed to a sub-folder under c:\windows. The icons in this folder are populated from another sub-folder by the login script according to the user groups that the user belongs to. Therefore, the permissions are set on the icons to ensure that only authorised users (i.e those that belong to the associated user-group) will have access to the application.

I believe that this was to enforce licensing restrictions within the org. Seems to me a rather complicated way of doing things but there you go....

I think I may just write a script and send this out as a clean-up operation after the uninstall.
Answered 07/05/2007 by: Vard0
Senior Yellow Belt

Please log in to comment
yes u do make script to this.....:-)
Answered 07/09/2007 by: neeta
Senior Yellow Belt

Please log in to comment
Answer this question or Comment on this question for clarity