Maybe a noob question here but I can't seem to find anything on this subject. I have sequenced Java 1.6.45 along with a shorcut to IE and the URL of a site that needs this particular version of Java installed. Everything is working fine with it except for if I delete the published shortcut, which is on the start menu, and run repair from the Appv Client  the shortcut does not get recreated on the start menu. In theory you can drill down to where the Appv cache is located and create a shortcut that way but if a user call our HD line I would like the guys on the phones to be able to just tell the user to run a repair on that particular AppV package. Thanks for any input on this issue I am having!!

 

-Mark

0 Comments   [ + ] Show Comments

Comments

Please log in to comment

Community Chosen Answer

2

Hi Mark,

not sure what exactly your scenario is - so you made an update of existing package and deploy it again?

Do you use Connection Groups?
Did you deploy it on RDS Hosts or Fat clients and how did you publish the package exactly?

A quick test in my enviroment works as expected. My updated shortcut to IE was deployed.

In general a user could run ACDC 2.0 for App-V 5 without install and do a repair of any selected package for themselves.

http://www.loginconsultants.com/en/products-for-sbc-vdi-performance-management/tools


/vkleinerde

Answered 09/26/2013 by: vkleiner
Orange Senior Belt

  • No this is not an update to an existing package. I do use connection groups but this particular package is not part of the one currently in use, and all client are physical boxes. Package is puiblished globally to these machines. Basically what I am after is this, this package is deployed and a shortcut it created on the start menu. It is there for all users who login so technically they cannot delete the shortcut since it is in an allusers area. But if they have admin level rights the shortcut could be deleted, thus deleting it for everyone. It was my understanding that the repair function on an AppV package would restore this shortcut if does in fact get deleted. Again I dont really see this becoming an issue as the users this is published to dont obviously have admin rights on the box, but I am just after some clarification on it.

    -Mark
Please log in to comment

Answers

This content is currently hidden from public view.
Reason: Removed by member request
For more information, visit our FAQ's.

Answer this question or Comment on this question for clarity

Share