Is there a way of updating the content without forcing a reinstall of machines that currently have the application installed? This is a really stupid feature of the Application Model. 

I updated an XML only required for installation, so I don't need mess with all of the existing installs.


I understand the concept and it's uses, but I should really be able to Update Content without bothering all machines in the environment.

0 Comments   [ + ] Show Comments


Please log in to comment



Err, SCCM is a pretty good product, and it can update content without bothering all the machines... - I think you have a knowledge gap in regards to SCCM.


Just update the package with a new scource version, thats it! 

You dont need to change any of your adverts, just keep them as they are - new deployments moving forward will use the new source version. The current ones will stay the same. JUST DONT mess with the live advert.

Dont believe me? Just deploy it to a computer and check the execmgr.log. You will see it refering a new version blah blah blah.

Answered 08/15/2013 by: rileyz
Red Belt

  • I believe he is referencing this somewhat scary messagebox:

    "Are you sure that you want to refresh content for this deployment type?

    Refreshing content will create a new revision of this application and may cause clients to be updated"

    This occurs when right-clicking a deployment type and selecting "Update Content". I haven't found documentation to suggest which scenarios will cause this to impact clients and which won't.

    I thought you could do the same thing without impacting the client by right clicking the application > properties > Content Locations > Redistribute, but that doesn't always include the files I've altered.
Please log in to comment
Answer this question or Comment on this question for clarity