Hi,
I have two MSI's which have some common files and advertised shortcuts.
When one msi is installed and uninstalled it takes out the shortcut of other msi too.

Common files and shortcuts are in the same components in the both MSI's and component GUID's are synced with each other.....

If any one has info regarding this pls share it.....
Thanks
0 Comments   [ + ] Show Comments

Comments

Please log in to comment

Rating comments in this legacy AppDeploy message board thread won't reorder them,
so that the conversation will remain readable.

Answers

0
May be for your common files if they are dll or ocx then you can adopt the isolation method for those files.. or if they are different extensions you can always set the component to be permanent so that they would not be uninstalled.[:D]

HTH [;)]
Answered 10/28/2005 by: slb
Purple Belt

Please log in to comment
0
all files are getting installed to program files\appliation folder.
and as the components are synced the files are not gettining uninstalled but the same shortcuts are getting deleted.
Answered 10/28/2005 by: Lillude
Senior Purple Belt

Please log in to comment
0
Are the shortcuts associated with the same components that install the target files? If not then this could be the reason they're being uninstalled - if so, then I'm not sure as it sounds like you're doing things correctly to me.

Alan

edit - to expand on the above point a bit further - are the shortcuts advertised or not? Don't know if this would make a difference or not. I might have a play around with this and see what results I get - edit
Answered 10/31/2005 by: ab2cv
Orange Senior Belt

Please log in to comment
0
Done some testing and been able to confirm that if you use advertised shortcuts then the shortcut will be uninstalled, whereas if you use non-advertised shortcuts (shortcut being managed by it's own component) then the shortcuts are left behind.

Not a great solution, since most people will want to take advantage of the advertised entry point that the advertised shortcut provides.

Alan
Answered 11/01/2005 by: ab2cv
Orange Senior Belt

Please log in to comment
0
Hi,

Where in the sequence is your "RemoveExistingProducts" action? If it is at the end, you could try moving it to the front...

Ilikebananas
Answered 11/01/2005 by: Ilikebananas
Purple Belt

Please log in to comment
0
I hear what you're saying Mr bananas - moving the RemoveExistingProducts action in this way allows for 'loose' component management and would certainly resolve the issue for a major upgrade.

However, I think in this case, it is two separate packages that happen to have the same shortcut in them (unless I've misunderstood the situation), so both packages will be installed on the machine at the same time - but if one is removed for whatever reason then it's taking the overlapping shortcut out too.

Alan
Answered 11/01/2005 by: ab2cv
Orange Senior Belt

Please log in to comment
0
Hi Alan,

I think you are right, I have been reading too quickly. I do think the situation of having shared shortcuts is uncommon (that probably put me on the wrong foot).

Perhaps it is possible to create a seperate MSI for the common components? (and take at least the shortcuts out of the other ones)

Ilikebananas
Answered 11/01/2005 by: Ilikebananas
Purple Belt

Please log in to comment
0
This would be a potential workaround for sure, but if you move the shortcuts out of the packages to which they pertain then you won't be able to advertise them - therefore you might be just as well using non-advertised shortcuts in the first place.(?)
Alan
Answered 11/01/2005 by: ab2cv
Orange Senior Belt

Please log in to comment
0
I am assuming not all shortcuts in the original packages are shared. You could leave the non-shared, and take out the shared. The ones that have been taken out should be in the new package. That way you can have all shortcuts advertised...

Ilikebananas
Answered 11/01/2005 by: Ilikebananas
Purple Belt

Please log in to comment
Answer this question or Comment on this question for clarity