We have created an Office2007 Professsional plus package to migrate users from Office 2003 to Office 2007.

We customized the custom.xml file in the ProPlus.WW folder and used this command to install the product:
setup.exe /config "path\config.xml"

We did not use any of the Option ID tags in our custom.xml file.

We just used these tags:
<Display Level="None" CompletionNotice="No" SuppressModal="Yes" AcceptEula="Yes"/>
<PIDKEY Value="Ourkey"/>
<Setting ID="SETUP_REBOOT" Value="Never"/>

Result: The product installs fine and all the products (Word, Access, Excel, Powerpoint, Publisher, Infopath, Office tools) get upgraded/installed.

Issue: In our test user's Outlook there were lots of Archive folders pointing to Network shares, the user also had additional mailboxes to open, and delegates setup. None of these settings got retained after the upgrade. On first launch of Outlook after the upgrade, user had to go through steps to configure the profile, as if Outlook was launching for the first time on the machine.

How do I make sure all these Outlook settings are migrated over to from Office 2003 to Office 2007?

Is there an additional tag to be added in the config.xml file?

Thanks
0 Comments   [ + ] Show Comments

Comments

Please log in to comment

Rating comments in this legacy AppDeploy message board thread won't reorder them,
so that the conversation will remain readable.

Answers

0
I couldn't say for sure, as I haven't played with 2007 in anger, but I suspect that it uses a different registry location for recording this information. Have you browsed the registry to see where the 2003 settings are? If there were in, say, HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Office\10.0\Outlook\[something], then I'd try creating a .REG from the key, editing the version number from '10.0' to '12.0' (Office 2007's 'internal' version number) and re-trying.

Alternatively, simply monitor the changes made on a system as you set up a newly-updated target and add those to your Outlook patch.
Answered 02/13/2009 by: VBScab
Red Belt

Please log in to comment
0
I had the same requirement at a client site and all I did as part of the migration was to use the option to retain the current user profile settings in the OCT.
Answered 02/15/2009 by: rbrucelee1978
Orange Belt

Please log in to comment
Answer this question or Comment on this question for clarity