Is there any way to move the replication files from an old Replication Share to a new one without having to re-download all the files? I copied the "repl2" folder (and all subfolders) from the current Replication Share over to my new share and set up a new Replication Share entry on the K1000. The K1000 appears to be preparing to re-download all the files again once I flip the switch. In my situation, it is over 70GB of data that really causes grief with my network connection out in a satellite office (which is manned 24/7). I would like to avoid another bad few days if possible.

0 Comments   [ + ] Show Comments


Please log in to comment

Rating comments in this legacy AppDeploy message board thread won't reorder them,
so that the conversation will remain readable.


I found following words in K1000 administrator guide. I read it and I think it can answer your question.

You can create a new folder and copy the contents of an existing replication folder to it. You can then specify this folder as the new replication folder in the appliance. The appliance checks if the new folder has all the replication items present and replicates only the new ones. This results in conserving the bandwidth by not copying the files twice. You can manually copy the contents of replication folder to a new folder.

The replication folder created in a machine follows following hierarchy:
\\machinename\foldername\repl2\replicationitems folder
The machine name and folder name is user defined while repl2 is automatically created by appliance server. The replication items folder includes the folder for patches, kbots, upgrade files, and software.

Hope this can help you.
Answered 04/19/2011 by: L5Bid629
Yellow Belt

Please log in to comment
Thanks for the assist. I also read that part of the guide, but I am not totally convinced it works as stated. I have copied the items over as the guide instructed, but when I view the list of items to be replicated, it lists all 70+GB that I have already copied over from the old share. I cannot enable Replication until I can be confident that it won't affect the bandwidth to that office. Been there already.

I'll go back and do some more digging/tweaking. I appreciate the help!
Answered 04/19/2011 by: mbretzke
Senior Yellow Belt

Please log in to comment
Yes, you should be able to just copy the fill directory structure to the new machine. We actually recommend this to seed any additional replication shares, so only the delta needs to be copied saving time & network bandwidth.

May be you could post the old and new directory structure/paths
Answered 04/24/2011 by: KevinG
Purple Belt

Please log in to comment
Answer this question or Comment on this question for clarity