Hi Guys,

Im packaging a program called FX Maths. I have the program built as an msi and have removed the update and help nags.

However when I log on as a limited user (or any other user for that matter) it reinstalls/configues the app. It does this every time you open the app as the other user. I have played around with the ALLUSERS field (1 and 2) and the APPLICATIONUSERS is set to allusers.

Also the program uses .ini files for the configuration of the apps. I have got these to copy over to the other users application data directory to stop the nags.

Any help would be great!
0 Comments   [ + ] Show Comments

Comments

Please log in to comment

Rating comments in this legacy AppDeploy message board thread won't reorder them,
so that the conversation will remain readable.

Answers

0
Do you mean that the installation progress dialog appears for each user when they log in, or every time the same user logs in? If the former, that's expected behaviour. If the latter, it is evidently failing to write whatever file or registry data it requires, meaning that the install never completes. Therefore, the install runs again at log-in time (and probably again if the feature is set up against an advertsied shortcut).

Have a look in the Event Log for errors with a 'Source' of 'MsiInstaller'. One of these will identify the component which is failing.
Answered 08/04/2008 by: VBScab
Red Belt

Please log in to comment
0
when I log on as a limited user (or any other user for that matter) it reinstalls/configues the app. It does this every time you open the app as the other user. I have played around with the ALLUSERS field (1 and 2) and the APPLICATIONUSERS is set to allusers.

The application must have certain key files missing and it undergoes a repair. Moreover, this repair action must only run for the users' area of the file system and the registry. Try the following:

1. Install the application using administrative previlages or LSA.
2. Install application such as InstallWatch Pro.
3. Run the watcher application to monitor activity on the computer.
4. Execute the application under administrative previlages so that the configuration is completed.
5. Read the report of the watcher application for the activity on the file system or in the registry.

If the application tries to create some files in the C:\Windows or C:\Program Files area, or /and tries to create registry enties in hive other than HKCU, then the application does not follow the essential Windows Security Compliance and must be blocked for deployment.
Answered 08/04/2008 by: matrixtushar
Purple Belt

Please log in to comment
0
ORIGINAL: VBScab

Do you mean that the installation progress dialog appears for each user when they log in, or every time the same user logs in? If the former, that's expected behaviour. If the latter, it is evidently failing to write whatever file or registry data it requires, meaning that the install never completes. Therefore, the install runs again at log-in time (and probably again if the feature is set up against an advertsied shortcut).

Have a look in the Event Log for errors with a 'Source' of 'MsiInstaller'. One of these will identify the component which is failing.



Every time a user RUNS the program, before it launches the installer will come up.
Answered 08/04/2008 by: Tobey
Senior Yellow Belt

Please log in to comment
0
ORIGINAL: matrixtushar

when I log on as a limited user (or any other user for that matter) it reinstalls/configues the app. It does this every time you open the app as the other user. I have played around with the ALLUSERS field (1 and 2) and the APPLICATIONUSERS is set to allusers.

The application must have certain key files missing and it undergoes a repair. Moreover, this repair action must only run for the users' area of the file system and the registry. Try the following:

1. Install the application using administrative previlages or LSA.
2. Install application such as InstallWatch Pro.
3. Run the watcher application to monitor activity on the computer.
4. Execute the application under administrative previlages so that the configuration is completed.
5. Read the report of the watcher application for the activity on the file system or in the registry.

If the application tries to create some files in the C:\Windows or C:\Program Files area, or /and tries to create registry enties in hive other than HKCU, then the application does not follow the essential Windows Security Compliance and must be blocked for deployment.


It is being install by an administrator, its just when another user logs in that it has the problem.

I will use the install watch program and see how it goes.
Answered 08/04/2008 by: Tobey
Senior Yellow Belt

Please log in to comment
0
ORIGINAL: matrixtushar
If the application tries to create some files in the C:\Windows or C:\Program Files area, or /and tries to create registry enties in hive other than HKCU, then the application does not follow the essential Windows Security Compliance and must be blocked for deployment.
Simply put, if it's trying to do that when a non-admin user runs it, it hasn't been captured fully.

Always, always, ALWAYS run your app as a non-admin user and see what it does BEFORE completing your package. If it's well-behaved and only makes user-based changes (as you say, in HKCU and/or user profile folder), then great. If it's not and writes stuff elsewhere, that stuff needs to be added to the package.
Answered 08/05/2008 by: VBScab
Red Belt

Please log in to comment
0
Absolutely true VBScab and that is the Windows Compliance test. However, the install watcher excercise will provide the files and the specific file system areas that are being reached by the application.

Pity that many off the shelf, and standard applications dont follow this simple rule and become a problem for the packager.

regards,
tushar
Answered 08/05/2008 by: matrixtushar
Purple Belt

Please log in to comment
0
Turns out the package didnt compile right and was trying to repair itself everytim the program run. I repackaged it using snap shot mode in admin studio. This time it seems to work fine, when you create a new user after install, it will just run the installer once and all is good. If there is an existing user then there is no problems.

Thanks for your help!
Answered 08/05/2008 by: Tobey
Senior Yellow Belt

Please log in to comment
Answer this question or Comment on this question for clarity