I had a question regarding two settings in the ORK "Set Feature Installation States" page (page 7 of 17). The two settings I'm referring to are:


Disable Run from Network

Do Not Migrate Previous Installation State


Can someone tell me exactly what these two settings do? I have an idea but I wanted to get the expertise from the experienced software packagers in these forums. :)
0 Comments   [ + ] Show Comments

Comments

Please log in to comment

Rating comments in this legacy AppDeploy message board thread won't reorder them,
so that the conversation will remain readable.

Answers

0
The Disable Run from Network option is an ORK setting used against one or more features of Office.

When set, it means that when users start an Office Installation from an Administrative Install Point (or compressed CD) they will not have the opportunity to select that the particular feature(s) involved should run from the network - it is frequently used to force the installation of the feature(s) to run from the Local Machine.

Running features from the network is generally a bad idea IMHO as it assumes a fast (and reliable) connection to the Admin Point will always be present so you might consider there is considerable merit to using this setting (?)

The Do Not Migrate Previous Installation State is a global ORK setting which affects all Office Features. It is used in situations where previous installations of Office exist and makes the new installation disregard how the feature(s) were previously installed. For example, your previous Office installation may have specified to run the Word feature from the network, but you now wish the new installation to run that feature from the local machine. The default "intelligent setup" behaviour of the Office Installation means that even if you specify in your ORK generated transform that the feature should run from the local machine, if the previous Office installation ran it from the network then this previous installation state will take precedence.

So by setting the Do Not Migrate Previous Installation State you override this particular aspect of intelligent setup and ensure that the installation state(s) you specify in the ORK transform will be the one(s) you actually get.

Hope this is of some assistance

Regards,

Spartacus
Answered 02/19/2007 by: spartacus
Black Belt

Please log in to comment
0
Thanks again, Spartacus! You the man!! :)
Answered 02/19/2007 by: dpolishsensation
Blue Belt

Please log in to comment
Answer this question or Comment on this question for clarity