I have a managed installations setup 1 for each branch. The installation is a program upgrade that installs over the top of the old program. When the upgrade happens it will overwrite two files. Since it overwrites the files I have a file syncronization setup to copy the files back to overwrite the files made from the upgrade.

How do I setup the kace to syncronize the files once the upgrade has happen. Can I somehow say once the install is complete then move the files over. I know I could set the installation times for the two events but I am not sure how long the deployment will take for the first action.
0 Comments   [ + ] Show Comments

Comments

Please log in to comment

Rating comments in this legacy AppDeploy message board thread won't reorder them,
so that the conversation will remain readable.

Answers

0
Could you include the two files as part of your MI?

Casey
Answered 10/19/2011 by: cmccracken
Orange Senior Belt

Please log in to comment
0
The managed installation is an MSI. I tried looking into extracting the vendors MSI and replacing the (Access) files in there but I know its not recommended and I do not know how to repackage the extracted folder anyways.
Answered 10/19/2011 by: pdenadel
Senior Yellow Belt

Please log in to comment
0
What if you zipped the msi and the two files, then controlled it with a batch file? For all of mine, I have a batch file in the zip called "setup.bat" that does the install. In your case it could be a three line file:


Command to install MSI
copy file1.mdb c:\whereitgoes /y
copy file2.mdb c:\whereitgoes /y


Then in the MI setup, you can tell it to just run setup.bat.

Casey
Answered 10/19/2011 by: cmccracken
Orange Senior Belt

Please log in to comment
0
I will test and let you know.

Thanks!
Answered 10/19/2011 by: pdenadel
Senior Yellow Belt

Please log in to comment
0
Well it worked....kind of.

It will copy the the files over to the pc and run the insall and then transer the access files.

The hang up is that on some of the tests when I click on the shortcut for the program on the desktop it will act like it is running the install again so one or two of the transferred files will get overwritten again.
Answered 10/19/2011 by: pdenadel
Senior Yellow Belt

Please log in to comment
0
What application is it?

Casey
Answered 10/20/2011 by: cmccracken
Orange Senior Belt

Please log in to comment
0
It is Financial Services Platform (FSP).
Answered 10/20/2011 by: pdenadel
Senior Yellow Belt

Please log in to comment
0
It isn't an application we use. I'm taking a wild swing, but I wonder if that "installer" when the shortcut is first clicked is the MSI self repair. If so, perhaps disabling it would help?

http://itninja.com/question/service276&mpage=1&key=&

If you install the application, then overwrite the files (by hand) does it run the installer again and overwrite them?

Casey
Answered 10/20/2011 by: cmccracken
Orange Senior Belt

Please log in to comment
0
remember that MIs are installed via the SYSTEM account so perhaps you need to add an all users property or something to make the shortcut stop that behaviour. Or if you need to run it as a user then set it up as a script. A script is also good for tying several steps together.

You could also have a script that verifies just the files. It could be an offline script that makes sure your files are installed and if not then recopies them.
Answered 10/22/2011 by: GillySpy
Seventh Degree Black Belt

Please log in to comment
Answer this question or Comment on this question for clarity