I need to run one install, let it reboot (or think it rebooted) then run another install.

in 4.5 you would run the first install and select "No, I will reboot later", stop monitoring (it would show that is was processing the reboot tasks) then Begin Monitoring and run the next install.

In Sequencer 4.6 SP1, After the initial application install I am not sure if I just select "No I will reboot later" then start my next install, if the 2nd install will act as if it was after a reboot.

My sequencer is Win7-64bit if that matters.

 

Any help is appreciated, thanks

-Joel

0 Comments   [ + ] Show Comments

Comments

Please log in to comment

Answers

1

Excerpt from app-v%204.6%20service%20pack%201%20sequencing%20guide[1].docx available from the microsoft download centre

"

For applications that give you the choice to reboot, just click “yes.”  The Sequencer will record the reboot tasks that the application has configured and cancel the reboot.

If the application forces you to reboot, the Sequencer will record the reboot tasks that the application has configured and cancel the reboot. 

Once you check the “I am finished installing” check box and click Next, the Sequencer will simulate the reboot.  That is the sequencing workstation will not actually reboot.  The Sequencer will simply process the reboot tasks that the Sequencer has recorded and apply them to the package.

"

 

Answered 12/13/2012 by: oreillyr
Fifth Degree Brown Belt

Please log in to comment
1

App-V 5.0 has removed this reboot intercept and it does actually allow a 'proper' reboot before continuing monitoring.

Answered 12/13/2012 by: dunnpy
Red Belt

  • Oh really dunnpy, why do you think they have done that then? Will that then pick up all the residue captured as in a capture. What do you think the advantages of that are? Will it be optional?
    • What Oreillyr said ......
Please log in to comment
0

I guess that as it's the Microsoft Sequencer with a Microsoft OS you'd expect that they know what to exclude in the reboot during montoring, and included that in the standard exclusion list.

Further information about the reboot and other changes in 5.0 can be found here: http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/jj713446.aspx

 

I've not sequenced in anger with 5.0, so I'm not sure of the benefits, but I guess that it must be better than the intercepted reboot, otherwise it wouldn't have been added.

Although going on Microsoft's previous record - Windows ME, Vista, 8 (?) maybe not :)

Hope that helps,

Dunnpy

Answered 12/13/2012 by: dunnpy
Red Belt

Please log in to comment
Answer this question or Comment on this question for clarity