I have created a mst for the application msi.
The default behaviour of msi is to prompt for a restart yes/no popup at the end of the installation.
I want to create a silent install along with a reboot prompt for enduser.
If I run the msi/mst in silent mode (/qn OR /passive), the system gets restarted without any prompt.

So, I excluded all the dialogs except SetupProgress dialog from the mst.
Now, I can run the msi/mst in UI mode, with just a progress bar and a prompt at the end for Restart.

However, in some cases- On the systems where the previous version of the application is running, a "fileinuse" dialog appears which asks for "retry", "ignore" & "exit".
Selecting "ignore" should be fine, but how can I make it a default option, so that enduser doesn't bother abt it.

How can I avoid the "fileinuse" dialog in the above mentioned UI mode.

Thanks
0 Comments   [ + ] Show Comments

Comments

Please log in to comment

Rating comments in this legacy AppDeploy message board thread won't reorder them,
so that the conversation will remain readable.

Answers

0
I don't know the answer to your specific question, but maybe this is an alternative.

If you use /quiet /norestart or /passive /norestart, this should install the application without restarting. So you can use vbscript or other tool to kick off msiexec with those switches and then present a message box when it is complete.
Answered 05/30/2008 by: MicrosoftBob
Blue Belt

Please log in to comment
0
In this situation, most packagers would create a Custom Action with a WMI-based script which checks for the process. If it finds that process executing, the script would use WMI's Terminate method to, er, terminate it. Then your install can proceed. Most good packagers would have an alternative for situations where the install runs with a UI, so that the user is prompted to close the offending app (or simply stick with the 'File in use' dialog) but also, in silent mode, its simply good manners to add an event to the Event Log, something like "you're too stupid to notice you were trying to upgrade a runnuing application so I killed it for you. Shame if you had any unsaved data..." Users like that approach.
Answered 06/02/2008 by: VBScab
Red Belt

Please log in to comment
Answer this question or Comment on this question for clarity