Hi

I'm new to this. We setup a role called Technician, and in that role are the Help Desk staff. They need to have permission to delete computers from the Inventory. I opened the Technician role, clicked on Inventory and gave write permission the "Computer" but that didn't do it. Is there some other place I should be looking to set this permission?

 

thank you

Answer Summary:
Cancel
0 Comments   [ + ] Show Comments

Comments

Please log in to comment

Community Chosen Answer

2

That should get it. At the bottom of that same screen verify that the username you are using appears.

Answered 02/22/2013 by: dugullett
Red Belt

  • Thanks but that doesn't work. The "Choose Action" is grayed out for all my technicians. Any other ideas?
    • When you go to the username you're testing with under Service Desk>Users>username. After clicking the link for their name at the bottom of the screen under "Role:" does it have the "technician" role?
  • Okay, I went to the user and saw that they were still "admin read only" so that may be the problem. I changed it to Technician, but everyone is gone now so I can't test it until Monday. Thanks I'll let you know.
    • If you know the admin password, you can change your account to the technician role and test it out so you don't have to wait until monday. Once confirmed back you can go back to the admin role for your username.
  • Okay, the problem was that I had changed the Technician role rights, and my Technicians showed up in the "associated users" list. However, I still needed to go into the user area and change their role to Technician. So, now it works. Thanks to everyone for the responses.
Please log in to comment

Answers

0

This is going to be a dumb question but after you changed your role did you log out and log back in again?

Answered 02/22/2013 by: nshah
Red Belt

  • Yes, I did. Thanks
Please log in to comment
Answer this question or Comment on this question for clarity

Share