We have several users in our organization who don't understand that "restore to a previous state" isn't necessarily a good thing to do when their pc crashes.  We have HP computers with a recovery partition, but the problem is that the users inadvertantly boot to this and "recover" their system, thereby wiping out all of the software and settings we have installed on their systems.

Does anyone know of a script we can use through kbox that will disable this feature so this is no longer an option when thier system crashes?

Any help or insight is appreciated.

Answer Summary:
Cancel
0 Comments   [ + ] Show Comments

Comments

Please log in to comment

Community Chosen Answer

3

I believe that is a bios level setting. 

http://h30499.www3.hp.com/t5/Business-PCs-Compaq-Elite-Pro/Disable-Hide-Press-F11-for-Recovery-at-start-up/td-p/1103380

Answered 04/18/2013 by: SMal.tmcc
Red Belt

  • This can be automated I'd think. There are HP tools out there that should allow you to create a script to change those settings. HP Client Management Interface (CMI) maybe?
Please log in to comment

Answers

2

Could you just remove that partition entirely?

 

Answered 04/18/2013 by: Ben M
Ninth Degree Black Belt

  • Of course, however I'm looking for a way to push this out to multiple users instead of having to go to each machine and physically do a diskpart command.
    • if they are all the same you can run a k2000 script to boot and run a diskpart and reboot. You also should be able to do that via a k1000 script that calls diskpart with /s config parameter to delete that one
      • Thank you. I didn't realize you could run a diskpart command in kbox. I'll do some research and see if I can throw a script together.
    • Yea, that was my thought. Though, deploying that kind of script can be playing with fire. Make sure it works like you think before you deploy it :). I think I'd recommend looking into SMal's answer and saving this as your last resort.
      • Yup, if any have a different partition layout you can nuke the wrong partition and delete the OS
      • Yea, a mistake here would not be good. Thankfully they are all the same as they were built from the same base system image.
      • Yea, I've got this mental picture of a ticked off administrator who hasn't backed up his hard drive since the days when MySpace was king.
Please log in to comment
Answer this question or Comment on this question for clarity
Admin Script Editor
Admin Script Editor is an integrated scripting environment available free here at ITNinja

Share