hide msi 'first-user' repair dialog
I have an issue where I do not want to display any dialogs for my end user to prevent any unnecessary help desk calls. Our company is just beginning to explore repackaging in .msi format with installshield/wise. One of the things we are finding is that when you repackage an app with any current user setting (HKCU or local profile), the install is completely silent as specified the first time it is installed. However, ever subsequent user that logs in and tries to run the app gets a dialog telling them the application is installing. I am assuming this is the msi default behavior becuase the msi is trying to 'repair' itself and since this is the new user's first time running the app they are missing the current user settings. However, I do not want any dialogs to display. Is there anyway to remove the dialog that says the app is installing in this scanario? If not, is there an alternative way of doing this? As a last resort, can we change the message that is displayed to something like 'Setting initial user settings on app x...etc..'. Thanks for the help.
so that the conversation will remain readable.