Fantastic program thus far, I hope development moves very speedily. I have run into an issue with shortcut creation though, it seems everything gets placed properly and is functional except shortcuts from the All Users start menu are no where to be found. I read the known issues about include/exclude problems but I looked in InstEdit and it appears the shortcuts should be there. I will investigate further. Keep up the great work.
0 Comments   [ + ] Show Comments

Comments

Please log in to comment

Rating comments in this legacy AppDeploy message board thread won't reorder them,
so that the conversation will remain readable.

Answers

0
Thank you very much for being the first to provide feedback! Have you identified why your shortcuts did not appear? Did you try setting ALLUSERS to 2 on the command line? My first guess would be a user vs. system mode installation issue (as is typical with MSI shortcut confusion).
Answered 09/19/2008 by: bkelly
Red Belt

Please log in to comment
0
I can see shortcuts when I select them in your program from the drop down list but what I am really hoping I am able to do is preserve the 'All User' shortcuts that the legacy installer creates and have my msi replicate them. So far I have still been unable to do this. Is this possible? I could not find any other information other than the ALLUSERS support faq here.
Answered 09/20/2008 by: kramed
Yellow Belt

Please log in to comment
0
Unfortunately shortcut location is a big of a pain when it comes to MSI. You can install the package for the current user or all users and the shortcuts are placed as appropriate. It is possible to hard-code a legacy shortcut into the package, but this "issue" may be outside the repackager and perhaps better discussed in the package development forum.

ALLUSERS Specifies whether to perform a per-machine or per-user installation. If this property is set to 2, the configuration data for the installation will be stored in the All Users profile if the user has administrative privileges, or otherwise to the current user's profile. If set to 1, configuration data will be written to the All Users profile if the user has administrative privileges, and if not the installation will display an error message and then exit. If this property is not set, that information will be stored in the user's personal profile. Certain registry entries are also determined by this property.
Answered 09/24/2008 by: bkelly
Red Belt

Please log in to comment
Answer this question or Comment on this question for clarity