I've added the Upgrade of older version of application where the Use Restart Manager option has been enabled in the older version.
When I try to upgrade with the current application which is higher in version and the User Restart Manager option has been disabled, I'm getting the FileInUse Dialog. I've tried using the MSIRESTARTMANAGERCONTROL=Disable, Still the same issue.

Is it possible to suppress the FileInUse Dialog
0 Comments   [ + ] Show Comments

Comments

Please log in to comment

Rating comments in this legacy AppDeploy message board thread won't reorder them,
so that the conversation will remain readable.

Answers

0
Would you "mute" your fire alarm so you don't have to listen to it when a fire breaks out? You can't replace a file while it is in use. It is likely you have a process running that is preventing you from upgrading that file but you really are asking a hypothetical question given the facts you supplied.
Answered 03/15/2012 by: pmarshbu
Orange Belt

Please log in to comment
0
My interpretation of the documentation (this one) on MSIRESTARTMANAGERCONTROL is that setting it to Disable actually triggers the use of the FilesInUse dialog.. Seems like it should be set to 0

What was the original value? Also I assume your Windows Installer version is 5.0+?

You can't replace a file while it is in use
Isn't that why they have PendingFileRenameOperations and 3010 exit codes?


PJ
Answered 03/15/2012 by: pjgeutjens
Red Belt

Please log in to comment
0
The FileInUse Dialog pops up even when Windows Explorer is opened and application is nothing to do with that.
Answered 03/15/2012 by: premnath_p_r
Senior Yellow Belt

Please log in to comment
0
Is the popup appearing during the upgrade of the previous version on the machine, or during the install of the old one? What does the log tell you?
Could it be it's actually the msi of the older version that's triggering it?

PJ
Answered 03/15/2012 by: pjgeutjens
Red Belt

Please log in to comment
0
PJ,

By default the value is 0, I've made it to Disable. It's Windows installer 5.0+.

In the Old version this is by default 0, due to which the dialog is popping up.
Answered 03/15/2012 by: premnath_p_r
Senior Yellow Belt

Please log in to comment
0
Copy the file which is in use to some other location and write an active setup script to copy it to the required location after the log off login process.
Answered 03/20/2012 by: piyushnasa
Red Belt

Please log in to comment
Answer this question or Comment on this question for clarity