I am deploying itunes to hundreds of computers with limited user rights.

This works out fine, but when they connect their phone, the iCloud Wizard starts. The users are not allowed to use iCloud because of security restrictions. And they do not have access to install software, or make changes to the computer. On the other hand they are allowed to connect their phones.



How do I prevent, in the installation, that the wizard is activated when the phone connects. Is there a registry key or is there a possibility in the .inf files?

I have opened the Msi in Orca and 7zip, and there is no clue there for how to disable this wizard. Or preventing it from starting when I connect a phone. 

0 Comments   [ + ] Show Comments


Please log in to comment



Is there a way to disable the wizard manually?

If there, is use your favourite lightweight snapshot tool (InstallRite, InControl, PictureTaker, et al) to snapshot you disabling it and see if there is anything captured that could be disabling that wizard - registy or config file.

Test by manually applying to your install, and then incorporate into you package.


Hope that helps,


Answered 12/11/2012 by: dunnpy
Red Belt

  • Yes I am currently waiting for an iPhone so I can test what really happens. I don't have a iPhone, I'm all Andriod you see. I bet there is a regkey that tells iTunes that the wizard has run.
  • Please let us know if you find the solution to this. I'll be deploying iTunes 11 to over 5,000 machines this upcoming Summer and this has already annoyed me on my personal machine.
  • I have testet iTunes with 2 separate iPhones.

    The conclusion is that the information regarding the popup of iCloud is stored in the two encrypted files iTunesPrefs.xml (Same name on both files, different location in user profile.) You need to install iTunes and start it 3 times with phone connected. Then it will stop asking about iCloud. This is stored in the 2 files. These files need to be copied in prior to installing iTunes.

    So after the XML-files are in place:
    You do the iTunes upgrade/fresh-install without the phone connected, So users should disconnect phone, upgrade iTunes/Install iTunes, then connect phone. The message will not appear. Nor will Eula or other annoying things appear.

    It doesn't seem to matter if you use different phones connecting them randomly. And it has nothing to say if the phones have been connected before. The iCloud install wizard is gone.

    Since this only works for the current user it is not flawless.
    In LanDesk I use one script to install xml files with user credentials, and another for the iTunes install with local system rights.

    I really hope someone will find a better way to install itunes or maybe Apple will do a better job making iTunes.
  • To turn off this setting, read the following web link as it is covered... http://lawrit.lawr.ucdavis.edu/itdocs/it/how-to/deploying-itunes-with-group-policy/view
  • Btill, its not covered in that web link.
    It was written before iCloud appeared in the sky. :-)
Please log in to comment
Answer this question or Comment on this question for clarity