i have to deploy blackberry 4.0 i made a transform but i want to know how can i remove the previosly version
0 Comments   [ + ] Show Comments

Comments

Please log in to comment

Rating comments in this legacy AppDeploy message board thread won't reorder them,
so that the conversation will remain readable.

Answers

0
There are a number of answers to your question. It really depends on how you deployed the earlier version.

If you used a GPO then use the upgrade function when you create your new version's GPO.

If you used SMS you could call your installation using a batch file that will remove the earlier version if it exists on the workstation. The disadvantage to this is that the batch file will run and if the removal of the earlier version caused a reboot SMS will think it's job is done and you will have a workstation with no BBerry desktop at all. So you have to suppress the reboot.

here is an example of just such a batch file that worked for Acrobat pro, just to give you an idea...


[font="Times New Roman"]set PRODNAME=AcroPro
set PKGPATH=%~dp0
rem The above line will set the PKG path to where this install is being executed

if not exist c:\logs\NUL md c:\logs
if not exist c:\logs\appinst\NUL md c:\logs\appinst
call MsiExec.exe /X{E5E6E687-1033-BA7E-6000-000000000001} /qb-! REBOOT=R
call MsiExec.exe /X{1F31ED7D-A7C9-4585-A940-3F5F4A893931} /qb-! REBOOT=R
msiexec /qb! /i "%PKGPATH%Source\Adobe Acrobat 6.0 Professional\%PRODNAME%.msi" INSTALL=ALL REBOOT=R /leamo+ "c:\Logs\Appinst\%PRODNAME%.log"

The /qb-! switch gives you a basic UI (qb) suppresses intermodal dialogs - like an error msg (-) and supresses the cancel button (!)
Answered 06/01/2005 by: BobTheBuilder
Purple Belt

Please log in to comment
Answer this question or Comment on this question for clarity