/build/static/layout/Breadcrumb_cap_w.png

KACE Product Support Question


What is the best practice for completely deleting a machine from Inventory ?

06/21/2018 466 views
I have ran into an issue of  after imaging a machine , kbox will not push software to it.  I want to completely delete this machine from kbox memory  so that I know for sure that  it is not retaining remnants.  This appears to only be occuring on old machines that have previously been on kbox, not happening on a new out of the box machine. 
0 Comments   [ + ] Show comments

Comments


All Answers

1
There is no right or wrong answer.
If you don't want the machine to be deleted, you need to make sure that it does no inventory anymore.
So the manual way is:
1. uninstall agent from the client
2. delete the client from the inventory

There is also an automated way.
Go to Inventory |<Choose Action>|Configure MIA settings.
There you can setup how long an old device needs to be missing in action before it is automaticly archived or deleted.
This checks for all device inventory types (agent, agentless, manual etc)
This also means if you have manual devices which are just a "reminder" in the inventory they will also get deleted after a time.
If the device is archived this also means if it reconnects a new item will created.
Answered 06/21/2018 by: Nico_K
Red Belt

  • This content is currently hidden from public view.
    Reason: Removed by member request For more information, visit our FAQ's.

Don't be a Stranger!

Sign up today to participate, stay informed, earn points and establish a reputation for yourself!

Sign up! or login

Share

 
This website uses cookies. By continuing to use this site and/or clicking the "Accept" button you are providing consent Quest Software and its affiliates do NOT sell the Personal Data you provide to us either when you register on our websites or when you do business with us. For more information about our Privacy Policy and our data protection efforts, please visit GDPR-HQ