/build/static/layout/Breadcrumb_cap_w.png

Systems Management Question


Upgrade K1000 to v7.0 but stick to Agent v6.x ?

01/17/2017 1674 views
I have upgraded our K1000 to v7.0 last week. Until now I only had 10 Clients install the new Agent (the other ~250 are running v.6.4.522).
I have some issues with patching 3 of Clients with the new agent and I read about other people having many problems with the new Agent.
I'd like to stick to v6 of the Agent, until the first patch is released for v7. 
Now, my question is, if I have to downgrade my k1000 to v6 as well, or if I can use k1v7 with the 6.4 Agent.
The 250 clients are still reporting to the k1000, but we are just instroducing the software to our company and I haven't configured patch or softwaremanagement for those devices yet. 
Does anyone use the k1000 in the newest version with an old agent? What are your experiences? Does patch management and software deployment work properly?

Thanks for your answers.
3 Comments   [ + ] Show comments

Comments

  • How are you downgrading your clients? I am looking to do this also and would appreciate any help! I have the exact same issues as you, client patch detection is failing.
    • Hi, I tried to downgrade by just uploading the old agent version and do the same process as with the update, but that didn't work. Since I only upgraded ~8 Clients to the new Agent, I downgraded them manually. For that I ran cmd in "C:\ProgramFiles(x86)\Dell\Kace" and executed "amptools uninstall all". This should uninstall the Agent. With the next boot, the client should install the old Agent via group policy, since I didn't make any changes there.
  • Ah ok. Damn. I've got 7 everywhere. :( Initially things were working fine!

    So I'd better turn off the auto update client and then figure out how to deploy the client somehow...script maybe....gpo? Then I need a copy of the agent!
  • ok I wrote a powershell script...to uninstall any version of KACE running then to install the required version. I couldn't use GPO as I can't really reboot all my servers....

All Answers

0
The only problem you may experience is the users will see a Kace splash screen when they startup the computer with the old client
Answered 01/17/2017 by: SMal.tmcc
Red Belt

 
This website uses cookies. By continuing to use this site and/or clicking the "Accept" button you are providing consent Quest Software and its affiliates do NOT sell the Personal Data you provide to us either when you register on our websites or when you do business with us. For more information about our Privacy Policy and our data protection efforts, please visit GDPR-HQ