/build/static/layout/Breadcrumb_cap_w.png

Uninstall of packages using upgrades in Wise 4.02

I'm having trouble deleting an older package installed on a system.. It's a screensaver and it isn't in use during the upgrade. Some background info: i'm using wise 4.02 to install an updated version of the screensaver to a folder. Trouble seems to be the filename of the file being installed. It's the same filename as the file that is going to be deleted using the uninstall sequence in Wise. (so first off an uninstall of the "older" file with the same name, then an installation of the "updated" file with the same name) The uninstall runs, showing up "completed" but not actually deleting the old file, thus not installing the new file. Is there any way of forcing the deletion? Or forced overwriting if it already exists? TIA

0 Comments   [ + ] Show comments

Answers (3)

Posted by: VikingLoki 16 years ago
Second Degree Brown Belt
0
First off you should upgrade to Wise 4.62. I'm pretty sure it's a free upgrade across the whole 4.x range.

You need to find the Product Code for the older package and put that in the Upgrades section. You can find the Product Code by editing the older package in Windows Installer Editor or by looking in the registry of a machine that has the older package installed.(HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Installer\UpgradeCodes)

It is also possible that the older package has a problem and doesn't uninstall properly. If you manually remove the old package via Add/Remove Programs, is the file removed?

What else... What about the version / date time stamp of the files. It's unlikely, but does the newer file have a lower version number or an older date time stamp? Windows Installer won't install an older file over a newer one.

That's all that pops into my head at the moment.
Posted by: Sweede 16 years ago
Second Degree Green Belt
0
If he means 4.02 it Is probably Wise for Windows installer latest version then 4.21

version 4.62 is Package studio not the same thing

Sweede ;-)
Posted by: DuncanPaul 16 years ago
Orange Belt
0
agree with loki, if you install the old package on a clean machine, and then uninstall it, the file should be removed right? (unless created by some action that is not reversed in uninstall)
so if that works, and you do a major upgrade (remove the existing product before installing new version), then when it runs it should remove it.

if you have added the orig product as an upgrade, have you moved the remove existing product action up in execute immediate.
Rating comments in this legacy AppDeploy message board thread won't reorder them,
so that the conversation will remain readable.
 
This website uses cookies. By continuing to use this site and/or clicking the "Accept" button you are providing consent Quest Software and its affiliates do NOT sell the Personal Data you provide to us either when you register on our websites or when you do business with us. For more information about our Privacy Policy and our data protection efforts, please visit GDPR-HQ