/build/static/layout/Breadcrumb_cap_w.png

Scripting Question


Network Printing - Resetting Preferences

09/01/2015 1279 views
We have color printers in most classrooms in our district, but starting now we need to enforce B&W printing to save on toner.  I just this summer set up scripts to map the network printers through our K1000 (previously they were installed locally).  The script checks weekly to see if the network printer is in the registry, and if not, it maps it with the /ga switch (so that it remaps it at each user logon).  I've set the printing default to B&W on the print server, but there's nothing preventing teachers and students from changing their preference to color.  It'll then keep their preferences each time they log back in.

My supervisor would like me to reset their connection weekly or so (delete/remap the printer) so it defaults back to B&W, but I think if I just run a script to delete/readd it, it will only apply to the currently logged on user.  Is there a way to clear everyone's preferences occasionally?
2 Comments   [ + ] Show comments

Comments

  • What type of printers are they?
  • A mix of older and new... mostly Dell printers (blechhh): 3100, 1350, 1760, 3760, 5130. I don't know anywhere in the web interfaces to change these settings permanently.

Be the first to answer this question

Don't be a Stranger!

Sign up today to participate, stay informed, earn points and establish a reputation for yourself!

Sign up! or login

View more:

Share

 
This website uses cookies. By continuing to use this site and/or clicking the "Accept" button you are providing consent Quest Software and its affiliates do NOT sell the Personal Data you provide to us either when you register on our websites or when you do business with us. For more information about our Privacy Policy and our data protection efforts, please visit GDPR-HQ