/build/static/layout/Breadcrumb_cap_w.png

Software Question


K1000 Managing Helpdesk Queues

08/10/2020 477 views

Hi All,

I'm trying to manage setting for queues we currently have setup in the helpdesk software. I'm trying to find a way to limit access to certain users so they only see certain queues and don't have access to other queues. I read something about using labels to accomplish this, but the post didn't go into detail on what exactly needed to be done or how to set that up. Anyone here did this before or can point me to some documentation on how to accomplish this?

Thanks, Jay



0 Comments   [ + ] Show comments

Comments


All Answers

0

For a tech to be able to see a queue, they need to be added to a label that is selected as ticket owners. So if they are not an Admin user and not in the ticket owners label they should not be able to see the queue

Answered 08/10/2020 by: Hobbsy
Red Belt

0

On the Queue Detail page (Service Desk, Configuration, choose a queue) there are options for submitters, approvers and owners. When a user logs into the appliance and creates a ticket they will see the queues which are configured to give them access based on those labels.

Labels can be applied to users either manually (Settings, Users) or via LDAP labels (Home, Label Management, LDAP Labels).

For more information I recommend starting with the admin guide. While on the Queue Detail Page, click the Need Help? flag on the right, Configuring Service Desk Ticket Queues, Configure ticket queues.


Answered 08/11/2020 by: chucksteel
Red Belt

  • I've read over it several times, but still doesn't seem to make sense to me. I have a user that has a label on him called ETS, I've created a new ticket queue and set all labels under that queue to ITS. So if things were working right the user with the ETS label shouldn't be able to see the new queue I created that has been labeled ITS correct?

    I'm sure there is something I'm not getting here, but I've been trying to tweak things the past few hours and the ETS user can still access the new queue and even make comments on tickets in that queue.
    • Can you post a screenshot of your queue configuration?
      • Sure thing, added it to the original post.
    • Two things:
      Uncheck "Allow all users as submitters"
      When you uncheck that box you will get the option to set labels for allowed submitters.

      Uncheck "Allow users with an Administrator role to read and edit tickets in this queue (Administrator Console only)"
      If your techs all use the admin console this will prevent them from seeing this queue.
      • That got it! You da man Chuck! :)

Don't be a Stranger!

Sign up today to participate, stay informed, earn points and establish a reputation for yourself!

Sign up! or login

View more:

Share

 
This website uses cookies. By continuing to use this site and/or clicking the "Accept" button you are providing consent Quest Software and its affiliates do NOT sell the Personal Data you provide to us either when you register on our websites or when you do business with us. For more information about our Privacy Policy and our data protection efforts, please visit GDPR-HQ