What is the connect.dat file?

0 Comments   [ + ] Show Comments


Please log in to comment

Rating comments in this legacy AppDeploy message board thread won't reorder them,
so that the conversation will remain readable.


CONNECT.DAT lists the connections that are to be automatically made for you when you log on. When you make a new connection the connection is added to CONNECT.DAT. When you disconnect from a share, that connection is deleted from CONNECT.DAT. If you do not wish to remember network connections, you may avoid having this file updated by using the NOREMEMBER switch.
CONNECT.DAT uses an encryption scheme to prevent users from editing the file with a text editor. If you delete CONNECT.DAT, your automatic connections will not be restored the next time you log on, but the file will be regenerated when a new drive is mapped without the NOREMEMBER switch.
Answered 06/22/2002 by: bkelly
Red Belt

Please log in to comment
Answer this question or Comment on this question for clarity