We have a new K1100 to replace our K1000 and we want to do some testing to see how long it will take to do the restore to the new Kbox. We'd like to bring up the new K1100 on a separate subnet (for testing, so no workstations can get to it), grab the backup files from the K1000, then restore them to the K1100 and see what happens (how long everything takes). This will obviously cause a problem though if, during the course of running the restore, the new K1100 will take on the network configuration of the current K1000.

Does anyone know if the restore process overwrites the network config settings (IP Address, etc) along with everything else? Is it a TOTAL restore or does it just restore certain elements?

Thank you as always.
0 Comments   [ + ] Show Comments


Please log in to comment

Rating comments in this legacy AppDeploy message board thread won't reorder them,
so that the conversation will remain readable.


It's a total restore except for the patching files. Those will have to be redownloaded by the Kbox. And yes the network settings are also restored. You can manually change them from the server console after the restore completes.
Answered 11/16/2011 by: darkhawktman
Green Belt

Please log in to comment
The restore will restore the entire database - thus ALL settings are restored. It will be an identical clone of the original. To reduce likelihood of issues, you can always restore the database on the new system while on a private network. Then change the network settings prior to putting it on your live network.
Answered 11/21/2011 by: airwolf
Tenth Degree Black Belt

Please log in to comment
Answer this question or Comment on this question for clarity