Hello,

I have an application that needs to be upgraded. The following steps were followed.

1) Older upgraded code was taken from the msi and used in the new application upgrade table in the msi.
2) Installed the older application and then installed the newer application.
3) The msi part of the older application was uninstalled but the osd cache and 8.3 install directory was not removed.

Please suggest if is there any other method to uninstall the older application entirely and install the never application.
0 Comments   [ + ] Show Comments

Comments

Please log in to comment

Rating comments in this legacy AppDeploy message board thread won't reorder them,
so that the conversation will remain readable.

Answers

0
I'm pretty sure it's a bad idea to uninstall an MSI in the process of sequencing an App-V. You should either replace the App-V for the previous version, if it exists, with the new one for the new version, or manually uninstall the MSI of the previous version outside of App-V and then put the App-V for the new version in its place. Since you mention OSD cache for the older version, it's probably option 1. Just create the new App-V starting from a clean machine, and then replace the old App-V with the new one on your distribution server.

PJ
Answered 01/16/2012 by: pjgeutjens
Red Belt

Please log in to comment
0
If we are upgrading the application, do we have any standards that says that we need to change the 8.3 directory. for e.g If the end user already have the appliication with directory direct20.001, now if the new application is installed then do we need to change it to direct20.002 so that end user wont be effected.
Answered 01/17/2012 by: virtualize
Orange Senior Belt

Please log in to comment
0
now if the new application is installed then do we need to change it to direct20.002 so that end user wont be effected.
That would be one of the basic rules yes, every App-V package should have its own asset directory under the Q drive
Answered 01/17/2012 by: pjgeutjens
Red Belt

Please log in to comment
0
Thanks for the response.

the end user already have the appliication with directory direct20.001, now if the new application is installed or upgraded the "direct20.001" directory which is already present wont be removed. when checked in the Q drive both the directory are present.

Please suggest me if there is any solution where when the new upgrade application is installed then the old application should be removed completely.

Note: I have investigated andfound that the directory is cached under APPFSstorage.
Answered 01/17/2012 by: virtualize
Orange Senior Belt

Please log in to comment
Answer this question or Comment on this question for clarity