Is there a way to reset all patch tries on all computers / patches?

I have several patches (Adobe Reader 10.1.3 for instance) that have failed on several computers and would like to avoid having to reset each machine.

Answer Summary:
Cancel
0 Comments   [ + ] Show Comments

Comments

Please log in to comment

Community Chosen Answer

5

Here's a write-up I did on this from a larger post.

Hope that helps!

John

____________________________

http://www.itninja.com/question/ldap-patching-sql-reports-using-all-three-for-efficient-managed-patching-and-other-cool-tric

 

Resetting patch retries

One typical situation to be aware of is needing to reset patch retries, as after 3 failed attempts (or whatever the retry count is set at) the K1000 will not try to deploy a patch to the same machine again. Unfortunately there is currently no global "reset all patches for all machines option" (I've requested one - http://kace.uservoice.com/forums/82699-k1000/suggestions/2224904-global-reset-patch-tries-for-all-computers), but there are two ways currently of resetting patch retries:

1) Reset patch retries for all patches for 1 machine:

Inventory - Computers - click on target machine - click on Patching Detect/Deploy Status (under Security) - click the Reset Patch Tries button

2) Reset patch retries for all machines for 1 patch (confirmed by Kace support):

Security - Patching - Patch Listing - click on target patch - click the Save button

Answered 07/03/2012 by: jverbosk
Red Belt

  • Thanks. I found those instructions, but I was hoping there was a way to do it for all patches, for all machines in 1 step.
  • Same here, that's why I posted the User Voice link so anyone else who wants this feature can vote it up so it gets attention.

    John
  • Thanks for posting this, John! That is good to know. I think I'll go vote up your suggestion on uservoice too. Thanks a lot!
Please log in to comment

Answers

1

I actually do not use the patches right now, but have you tried removing and re-adding the patch in the available patches?  I know re-saving a managed install will reset the deployment, likely because it assumes the install has changed and may require redeployment.

Answered 07/03/2012 by: philologist
Red Belt

Please log in to comment
Answer this question or Comment on this question for clarity