In the default location in Package Studio for RemoveExistingProducts - after InstallFinalize - if the removal of the old product fails, it leaves both old and new versions.
The SDK says best to sequence between InstallExecute and InstallFinlize to roll back removal of the old and the install of the new - but it's not working for me, still getting both versions on a failed removal. Any suggestions?
0 Comments   [ + ] Show Comments

Comments

Please log in to comment

Rating comments in this legacy AppDeploy message board thread won't reorder them,
so that the conversation will remain readable.

Answers

0
Sequence "RemoveExistingProducts" just before "InstallInitialize" and after "InstallValidate". Check your upgrade logic implemented in Upgrade Table. Make sure to uncheck "Continue install after a remove failure".
Cheers! :-)
Answered 09/26/2008 by: zipsantro
Purple Belt

Please log in to comment
0
RemoveExistingProducts is so positioned in order to keep uninstall activity to a minimum. The logic goes that, for the majority of cases, files are generally the same and, if removed before the new version is installed, would simply be replaced. Therefore, leaving this action until the end reduces such pointlessness.

That's the theory, anyway...

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/aa371197(VS.85).aspx
Answered 09/26/2008 by: VBScab
Red Belt

Please log in to comment
0
Problem solved with unchecking the Continue Intallation after a remove failure. Thanks for your advice!
Answered 09/26/2008 by: LouisW
Senior Yellow Belt

Please log in to comment
0
Answered 09/28/2008 by: jmcfadyen
Fifth Degree Black Belt

Please log in to comment
Answer this question or Comment on this question for clarity