So I can;t for the life of me figure out how to get the Automatic update checker box to be uncheked by default. I don;t know of a command in the .ini file (which by the way is there a list of names and values for that .ini file to know what can be done and what can't?) anyway I need a way to have the auto update diasables and to have it work with a network install. So through the ini or a reg edit would work any help is greatly appriciated. [>:]
0 Comments   [ + ] Show Comments

Comments

Please log in to comment

Rating comments in this legacy AppDeploy message board thread won't reorder them,
so that the conversation will remain readable.

Answers

0
Ever heard of/use RegMon or FileMon?

If not, then go here and download them:

http://www.sysinternals.com/ntw2k/source/filemon.shtml
http://www.sysinternals.com/ntw2k/source/regmon.shtml

These tools are how I figured out how to STOP the registration dialogs from coming up when I redeployed other Adobe products...

RegMon and FileMon show you a listing of every single registry action and file action on your system.

Get one or both of them running, but stop them (stop them from putting actions in their lists).

Then start QuickTime and go to wherever you normally disable the autoupdate.

Then, JUST BEFORE you actually disable it, turn on RegMon and/or FileMon.

Then, after you believe your change has been saved or processed, stop Reg/File-Mon from logging actions again.

OK - you will have to do some digging, but if the setting to disable auto-update was changed in the system registry, then the exact key and value SHOULD be in the log of actions you just captured.

Same thing for files... if an INI was changed, for example.

This should give you a pretty good idea of what needs to be set to disable your auto-update thingee.

I hope this helped...

Others, please chime in if you see a better way or need to correct me.

Cheers,

- Sean Roberts
Answered 08/06/2004 by: sean_c_roberts
Senior Purple Belt

Please log in to comment
0
Has anyone found a sure way of disasbling this feature? I too am at a loss!

Unfortunately, sean_c_roberts solution is not a "cure". I tried deleting the exe and the reg keys that the app calls, and it still activates the QuicktimeUpdate.exe (I don't know from where?).

Plain and simple: Does any know how to lock down or disable Quicktime 6.5.1 QuickttimeUpdater.exe?

TIA
Cheers,
Dan
Answered 09/08/2004 by: dano
Senior Yellow Belt

Please log in to comment
0
As per the tip posted here

http://www.appdeploy.com/packages/detail.asp?id=123

I tried this and it works, check it out...

Chad


To get rid of the nag screen asking you to 'upgrade to quicktime pro':

Install the application, then set the date forward 10 or so years. Then run the application, and hit ' LATER ' on the nag screen. Now close the player, and the date will be stored in the QuickTime.QTP file located under Documents And Settings/All Users/Application Data/Quicktime. Change your date back to normal and that screen is history :)

Now include the QTP file in your distribution (as described above), and the users wont see that nag screen for 10 or so years.

Kneedle
Above Entry Provided by Kneedle
Answered 09/08/2004 by: cdupuis
Third Degree Green Belt

Please log in to comment
0
Chad,

Thanks for the input, but no where in that posting does it say "how to disable auto update".

What I'm looking for is a way to "remove" or prevent users from using the auto update feature all together (version control and security). It's easy to uncheck the setting, but users can still access the Update menu item and upgrade.

Again, any help would be appreciated!
TIA
Cheers,
Dan
Answered 09/08/2004 by: dano
Senior Yellow Belt

Please log in to comment
0
In my post the process that kneedle suggested also disables the option, but you must repackage the application to complete this, I have done this and it does work.
Answered 09/08/2004 by: cdupuis
Third Degree Green Belt

Please log in to comment
0
Maybe I'm missing a step... do you think you can be more specific?

I installed the packager and then set up QuickTime (with a QuickInstaller.ini). I then configured Quicktime the way I want and manipulate its registry (removing all pointers to QuickTimeUdater.exe including .qup keys) and then create the MSI file.

When I install the newly created package, the Help -> Update Existing Software is still active and allows the user to update QuickTime.

I called Apple, and they have no wisdom to offer!

TIA,
Dan
Answered 09/10/2004 by: dano
Senior Yellow Belt

Please log in to comment
Answer this question or Comment on this question for clarity