We are having an issue of upgrading PC's Physically or by reloading the OS. Either way when we reload the Kace Agent even thought the PC has the exact same name it lists it as a seperate node using another license instead of using the same license for that node. This would not be to big of an issue since we can always delete the unused nodes however once we delete one it reopens any tickets that were tied to it.  Is there a way to either not have it list it as a new node or transfer all closed / open tickets from the old to the new with out it changing the status?

0 Comments   [ + ] Show Comments

Comments

Please log in to comment

Community Chosen Answer

1

KACE uses KUID's as means to identify the machines. Even if the name is the same, the hardware/software combination used will most likely generate a new KUID. You can manually go on there and grab the old KUID and replace the new one. If you are using the KBOX 2000 to image your systems you can do it as a pre/post task. 

http://www.itninja.com/question/using-k2000-to-maintain-kuid-through-imaging

 

The ticket issue is a known issue with no real clean fix. KACE as an article out that prevents the emails from going out. 

http://www.itninja.com/blog/view/k1000-prevent-emails-on-computer-deletion

Answered 04/01/2013 by: nshah
Red Belt

Please log in to comment

Answers

0

Take a look at this.

http://www.kace.com/support/resources/kb/article/understanding-and-dealing-with-duplicate-machines-in-inventory

You can also setup a MIA rule for machines that have not inventoried in XX days.

Inventory>MIA>Choose Action>Configure Settings

Answered 04/02/2013 by: dugullett
Red Belt

Please log in to comment
0

I guess I'm a little confused about something. I thought the K1000 had several mechanisms to provide deduplication outside the KUID. Is this not so?

Answered 04/02/2013 by: GeekSoldier
Red Belt

Please log in to comment
Answer this question or Comment on this question for clarity