We upgraded our K1000 (VM) to 5.4.76847 in May of 2013. Since then, several (not all) users report that the alert notification window ("Patch Progress Message") appears after patching has completed and is missing all controls to dismiss it. On some systems (Win 7 where user has Admin rights), the window can be dismissed by right-clicking on its icon in the Task Bar, but most of our users do not have this setup. We run our patch schedules at night; this symptom appears on the first login following a patch cycle; re-booting the PC seems to dismiss the alert.

I have searched this forum and more generally on the Internet and can't find any other mention of this behavior. Has anyone else encountered this? If so, what steps did you take to stop the message from appearing?

Answer Summary:
0 Comments   [ + ] Show Comments


Please log in to comment



What version agent are you using? It sounds like 5.4.10622 is supposed to resolve this type of issue.


From the 5.4.10622 release notes "Resolved Issues".

2212: The patch progress message window continues to be displayed on managed machines after the 

patch deployment phase is completed. The window closes when machines are restarted manually.

Answered 06/17/2013 by: dugullett
Red Belt

  • Well, I feel a little foolish now. The K1000 is showing 5.4.10622 as the available agent version, but that version has not been picked up by the clients. I assumed that this would happen automatically and did not even think to check the agent; I was focusing on the new version on the appliance. Thanks for the help!
Please log in to comment
Answer this question or Comment on this question for clarity
Nine Simple (but Critical) Tips for Effective Patch Management
This paper reviews nine simple tips that can make patch management simpler, more effective and less expensive.