Hi all.

This is a completely newbie question so please bear with me as I have not been packaging for very long.

I have a vendor MSI that I have configured with 3 different MST files depending on which features and configuration 3 different groups of users will require. Each of these works fine in isolation.

The problem that I am having is when one of these users requires a different set of features that I have made available in another MST file and they already have the software installed with an existing MST.

If I re-install the software with the new MST file it still defaults back to the existing MST and its feature set.

I know there is a cached MST file stored in c:\windows\installer and I have tried deleting this but it still defaults back to the existing config. Even the verbose logging of the install shows that it is using the MST file for the existing installation and not the new MST file that I have used in the installation command line.

Any pointers or advice would be greatly appreciated.
0 Comments   [ + ] Show Comments

Comments

Please log in to comment

Rating comments in this legacy AppDeploy message board thread won't reorder them,
so that the conversation will remain readable.

Answers

0
Would it be too hard to install all the features? A place where I worked had the policy of installing the application in full.
Answered 05/13/2009 by: dvdzonenz
Purple Belt

Please log in to comment
0
When you say "re-install", what exactly do you mean? Do you mean you used the REINSTALL and REINSTALLMODE properties? If so, it might be easier to uninstall first and then install with the other MST.

@dvdzonenz, A place where I worked had the policy of installing the application in full.What about apps which install, say, administrative features for a product? Sub-optimal, to say the least.
Answered 05/13/2009 by: VBScab
Red Belt

Please log in to comment
0
Thanks to both of you for your replies.

When I say re-install, I mean that I am just installing the application with the new MST, and without any REINSTALL and REINSTALLMODE properties.

I have tried an uninstall of the existing installation but this did not appear to help.
Answered 05/14/2009 by: Vard0
Senior Yellow Belt

Please log in to comment
0
Without specifying that you are re-installing (i.e. using the REINSTALL and REINSTALLMODE properties) that will never work. The engine will see that the product is already installed and do nothing, as you've discovered.

Check out MSDN for details on using those properties and, if you also want to remove certain features, check out the REMOVE property, too.
Answered 05/14/2009 by: VBScab
Red Belt

Please log in to comment
Answer this question or Comment on this question for clarity