Hi

I've used InstallShield 11.5 to package an MSI and am trying to deploy it to our fleet. When it's installing, I want the user to see a progress bar without having the ability to cancel the install, but for them to still be given a reboot prompt if required. I think using the \qb! switch will do the job except that if an old version of the program is running, the user is prompted with a dialog asking them to shut the program down. That's fine and I'm happy for them to get that warning, but there is a cancel button there that will cause problems I'm sure. How do I either remove the cancel button from the dialog window, or how do i stop that window from appearing altogether?

I've looked at the Dialogs section of AdminStudio Editor and can see one called 'FilesInUse' which doesn't look exactly like the dialog I'm seeing and deleting / modifying it doesn't change the MSI's behaviour.

Any suggestions would be much appreciated.
Brett

EDIT
It looks like it's an error 1607 as the Dialog text is "The following applications should be closed before continuing the installation:". Not sure if that helps anyone or not.
0 Comments   [ + ] Show Comments

Comments

Please log in to comment

Rating comments in this legacy AppDeploy message board thread won't reorder them,
so that the conversation will remain readable.

Answers

0
Hi Brett,
do not know IS 11.5, but there should be a possibilty to remove this check in IS.
However, if you dont find it, look for an action called 'ApplicationsInUse' in the 'InstallUISequence' (this seems to be an IS provided CustomAction, which i see frequently on MSI's built with IS). Normally it comes right before the Dialog in question (AppsInUseA).
Set the following condition to it 'UILevel > 3'
Use either table view from IS or ORCA to edit.
Hope this helps.
Regards, Nick
Answered 11/08/2006 by: nheim
Tenth Degree Black Belt

Please log in to comment
0
Thanks Nick, but no luck with that. I can't find any reference to 'ApplicationsInUse' or 'AppsInUseA' in the Direct Editor. It appears that this error is a built in one as part of Windows Installer more so than IS from what the help file says. As the 'FileInUse' dialog appears to do the same thing and I'm pretty sure I can modify that, can anyone tell me how to get that to run. I believe it's called by the InstallValidate action, but I've never had to modify sequences or actions (and have never been given any training in packaging :( ).

Thanks again
Brett
Answered 11/09/2006 by: brettski
Purple Belt

Please log in to comment
0
Hi Brett,
you can add a line in the ControlConditon table to disable the cancel button on the dialog.

FilesInUse Cancel Disable UILevel < 4

You have get a look into the Control table to make shure the 'Cancel' Button is named like that.

This should also be more comfortable by modifying the button in the Dialog Editor, but i don't know IS.
Hope this helps,
Regards, Nick
Answered 11/10/2006 by: nheim
Tenth Degree Black Belt

Please log in to comment
Answer this question or Comment on this question for clarity