We just upgraded K1000 to 5.4.76847 and agents to 5.4.10622 . I have some managed installs which are .zip files, and contain Mac packages (iMovie, Horizon client, etc.). I have tried it either with using an alternate location or just uploading the .zip and associating it with the software. Either way, the .zip downloads to the computers I ask it to, but the files never get deleted from either the downloads or packages directories. It is even worse, since the .zip and .pkg versions are left behind after installation.

It appears that this button, "delete after download" does not work. Any ideas? My test Macs are 10.8.3 and 10.7.5, FWIW.

0 Comments   [ + ] Show Comments


Please log in to comment



It's a bug in that agent version for Mac/Linux. From what I see, it will be fixed in 5.5, which is currently expected to be released in a couple of months.

For now, you could use a script to delete the downloaded files after the software is installed.

Answered 06/03/2013 by: jknox
Red Belt

  • I was afraid of this.

    Based on my experiences with KACE/K1000 over the past few weeks, I am shocked at how non-functional this product is regarding management of Mac clients. Managed installs couldn't work in version 5.3; the solution was to upgrade to 5.4. If only it was this easy! The journey to upgrade to 5.4 was full of problems. Most of my Mac clients couldn't auto-update to the latest 5.3 (according to KACE 5.4 upgrade docs, clients should be on the latest 5.3 prior to upgrading to 5.4). Support provided a SMB script that is a crutch for 10.7+ Mac clients.

    So now, unable to do a managed install on a 10.7+ Mac because "it is a bug in 5.3", I have a new problem; getting an SMB fix pushed out so I can upgrade the KACE agent on each Mac client so that I can auto-update to 5.4 so I can get managed installs to work. A week of fussing with KACE trying to get things upgraded, and we get everything upgraded to 5.4 eventually. To my surprise, the managed install process that I wanted since 5.3 actually works to install software. Not surprisingly, there is a catch, and to keep from adding GB to my clients with every package update, I'll have to wait until 5.5.

    This system does not seem to be enterprise ready.
    • I can understand your frustration. Using a script to delete the downloads is a viable alternative until 5.5. Post here or submit a support ticket if you need help with creating a script to delete the download once the software is installed.
Please log in to comment
Answer this question or Comment on this question for clarity