A few weeks ago we created a KACE pop-up alert to notify our staff of a networking issue. Later that day we created a second alert letting them know that the issues had been resolved. Both alerts had a Keep Alive time of 1 hour. To this day we are still seeing those messages pop up on machines of newly returning staff (those machines that have been off for the last few weeks and are just now being turned on).

Question: Does the Keep Alive field set how long the message will be sent to newly booted machines, or rather is it used to determine how long the message will be displayed on the screen? If it for the latter then is there a way to cancel the current pop-up alerts that are hanging out there?

Thank you for your help.

Answer Summary:

The job is queued and will stay there till all assigned that notification get it. If you do not need a notification any longer you need to after the elasped time go to reporting/alerts and delete it

Cancel
0 Comments   [ + ] Show Comments

Comments

Please log in to comment

Answers

1

The job is queued and will stay there till all assigned that notification get it.  If you do not need a notification any longer you need to after the elasped time go to reporting/alerts and delete it.

Answered 08/03/2012 by: SMal.tmcc
Red Belt

Please log in to comment
0

That makes perfect sense. Thank you SMal.tmcc

Answered 08/06/2012 by: jvincent
Orange Belt

  • Glad to help.  If you need to get word to everyone currenlty on look at net send in xp and most win 7 and vista have whats called msg.exe.  I believe home does not have this, it you do have it look for msg.exe in windows\system32.
    For $400 here is the tool our campus security bought
    http://www.winsentmessenger.com/

Please log in to comment
Answer this question or Comment on this question for clarity