Hi Guys

Wondering if anyone can help. I'm in the middle of deploying a Java 7 solution across our fleet.
Thus far we have a deployment.properties file which specifies the list of exception websites and also we take a copy of the trusted.cert file both are pushed out by policy.
So far this is working ok, however we have noticed with a particular application 'Kronos' that when we log in we get a 'Allow access to the following application from this web site?" prompt. We get the option of 'Allow" or "Don't Allow'.

From what i can see this is not tied in with the security certificate as we can see the website as part of the store, so i'm thinking when a user chooses the 'Allow' option its getting saved somewhere else.

Ideally i want to be able to bypass this prompt for all users on a given workstation.

I'm wondering if anyone else has run into this issue and has a way around this? Like i said the certificates are in the store and we have the website in the exceptions Rule.
We also have the Mixed code prompt 'Enable - hide warning and run with protections'

Ideally we want to be able to leave the security set to High which is the default out of the box when you install Java.



Answer Summary:
Cancel
2 Comments   [ + ] Show Comments

Comments

  • Use your favourite lightweight snapshot tool (InControl, PictureTaker, InstallRite, InstallWatch, et al) to capture clicking the 'Allow' and see if you can see where the choice is being saved.

    ProcMon may also be able to shed some light on it.
  • Ill give this a try, I have a sneaky feeling that this may have something to do with the java.policy file. All other websites that we have added to the trusted.cert has worked thus far. Ill write an update if i get it sorted.
Please log in to comment

Answers

1
Got word back from the vendor. The issue is related to the java applet trying to get access to some of the Java scripting files within the site.

Unfortunately they don't have a fix for this, and it seems to be tired in with the Cache directory on the local users profile.
If you hit the Allow button and the 'Do not show this again' it will keep that website cached going forward.

Answered 09/29/2014 by: djjass
Senior Purple Belt

Please log in to comment
Answer this question or Comment on this question for clarity