I am stuck on another one of those seemingly simple problems. I need to place an original shortcut (that I can re-create) on ALLUSERS\Desktop during a remove operation. What is the easy way to do this? I tried adding a shortcut to a component with a condition set to REMOVE~="ALL". This never triggered. I want to learn how these conditions work. I see that I can have conditions on features, components and also the conditions table. Can someone piece this together for me?

0 Comments   [ + ] Show Comments


Please log in to comment

Rating comments in this legacy AppDeploy message board thread won't reorder them,
so that the conversation will remain readable.


I would up using an embedded CA VBS in Execute Deferred. This gets me out of the immediate but I would still like to know this could have been accomplished. I am really struggling with conditions on Features / Components and the Component table. Doesn't anyone know how these are intended to operate?

Here is what I was able to locate form within the Windows Installer SDK. How do I know when something is sequenced and what is a valid new location for it?

Windows Installer
Conditioning Actions to Run During Removal
There are two ways to author the installation database such that an action is only called when the package is uninstalled:

If the action is sequenced after the InstallValidate action in the InstallExecuteSequence table, the package author may specify a condition of REMOVE="ALL" for the action in the Condition column. Note that the REMOVE property is not guaranteed to be set to ALL during an uninstall before the installer executes the InstallValidate action. Note that the quote marks around the value ALL are required in this case.
If the action is sequenced after the CostFinalize action and any actions that could change the feature state, such as MigrateFeatureStates action, the action can be conditioned on the state of a particular feature or component. See Conditional Statement Syntax. Use this option to call an action during the removal of a particular feature or component, which may occur outside of the complete removal of the application.
Note that the Installed property can be used in conditional expressions to determine whether a product is installed per-computer or for the current user. To determine whether the product is installed for a different user, check the ProductState property.
Note that older versions of a product may be removed during an upgrade by the RemoveExistingProducts action. The Upgrade table may also set the REMOVE property to ALL in this case. To determine whether a product is being removed by an upgrade, check the UPGRADINGPRODUCTCODE property. The installer only sets this property when RemoveExistingProducts removes the product. The installer does not set the property during a normal uninstall, such as removal with Add/Remove programs.

Answered 04/24/2008 by: JimmPanik
Orange Belt

Please log in to comment
Answer this question or Comment on this question for clarity