We have recently been working on setting up a K1000 in our enterprise. We had set up a test server initially, and then we built a new server for production. We have rolled out the KACE agent to a large number of workstations and servers in our production environment. But due to a miscommunication with our Mac team, the Mac client got installed from the test server and so now all of our Mac clients are pointing to the test box. Is there an easy way to script a change to all of the Macs so that they check in to the production server? Then we can decommission our test server and avoid the problem in the future. If I understand correctly, just using DNS to point the test server's name to the production box isn't enough to reconfigure the client, is that correct?

Thanks
0 Comments   [ + ] Show Comments

Comments

Please log in to comment

Rating comments in this legacy AppDeploy message board thread won't reorder them,
so that the conversation will remain readable.

Answers

0
It depends on how the server is configured in the configuration file. If it is configured by IP, you'll have to modify the configuration file (remove and push a new agent). If it is setup by hostname in the configuration file, you can simply modify the HOSTS file or use a DNS CNAME entry.
Answered 11/23/2011 by: airwolf
Tenth Degree Black Belt

Please log in to comment
0
So when the Mac tech installed the client on each machine if he put in the server name, I can just power down the test box and point its name to the prod box? Now once the Macs check in will their configuration change so that they use the new name, or would we have to leave that CNAME around indefinitely? It's not a huge deal, but it'd be cleaner to have all of them actually pointing to the right box, just in case someone is poking around in DNS one day and says "oh, that's an old server name, I'm going to delete it".
Answered 11/23/2011 by: sfelice
Senior Yellow Belt

Please log in to comment
0
I'm not sure if they will automatically update the configuration file with the new hostname... I guess you'll find out. [;)]

Worst case scenario: you'll have to either manually edit the config files or push a removal/reinstall of the agent.
Answered 11/23/2011 by: airwolf
Tenth Degree Black Belt

Please log in to comment
2
When the "broken" agent connects to the production server then it's "lasthost" entry will be modified but the others will not -- As long as the current setting for host, ampurl, etc are working the agent won't change those.

However, once you disble the temporary name in DNS completely then the agent will fallback to the "lasthost" entry and update it's conf file
Answered 11/23/2011 by: GillySpy
Seventh Degree Black Belt

Please log in to comment
Answer this question or Comment on this question for clarity