Hi all,

I'm wondering when an application is removed by the original, installing user, are HKCU keys written during repair for non-installing users removed.

We use Major Upgrades to push our updates/upgrades and I'm wondering why the repair is always triggered for non-installing users after upgrade. I'm not saying this is a bad thing for us as new user information in existing components would be populated/installed/written, etc. But, if there were no changes, I wouldn't expect a repair unless something is ripped out for these users when the installing Admin removes the product.

Any info appreciated!

0 Comments   [ + ] Show Comments


Please log in to comment

Rating comments in this legacy AppDeploy message board thread won't reorder them,
so that the conversation will remain readable.


By definition, HKCU data belongs to the logged-in user. Therefore, no other user has rights to remove such data, even the installing user.
Answered 02/22/2011 by: VBScab
Red Belt

Please log in to comment
That's what I thought, but I wonder then what repeatedly triggers repairs. I know i can check the event log, but that shows components that should always stay if what you say is true.

Once I get around to testing future upgrades with our new install built with InstallShield, I'll take a closer look.
Answered 02/22/2011 by: Superfreak3
Black Belt

Please log in to comment
Answer this question or Comment on this question for clarity