I am having an issue trying to install HEAT on our corporate machines. I am using the MSI and I have used Install Shield Tuner 5.5.51 to create a MST file. The install for the most part seems to go fine but about half way through the install I get a pop up message (HTML Help 1.32 Update) This computer already has a newer version of the HTML file. This popup requires the user to hit the ok button before the install will continue. I have gone as far as to set the user interface to silent and it still pops.

1. Is there as way to stop this from popping

2. What is a good resource to learn about the install switches that are set with in the Install Shield Tuner. So far I have just been learning from the school of hard knocks but it would be nice to have some sort of reference or best practices for application repackaging.

Thanks

X
0 Comments   [ + ] Show Comments

Comments

Please log in to comment

Rating comments in this legacy AppDeploy message board thread won't reorder them,
so that the conversation will remain readable.

Answers

0
create a log file during the msi installation, now when the dialog pops up open the log file to see the custom action that is triggering this action, disable the custom action in the mst.
Answered 01/19/2006 by: bheers
Second Degree Blue Belt

Please log in to comment
0
Weird... My problem with Heat was that it was failing through GPO because "MDAC 2.5" or higher was required (on a WinXP SP2 box [&:] - I guess 2.8 < 2.5)
So I ended up tracing back condition check and deleting it. Worked perfectly fine after that.
You could try the same...

Versions 8.01 through 8.3
Answered 01/20/2006 by: revizor
Third Degree Blue Belt

Please log in to comment
0
We did find a note from Frontrange on how to resolve this issue but it apparently only works on a completely silent install which tends to confuse our customers.

The fix was:

1. Launch ORCA
2. Browse to the HEAT.MSI (make sure the MSI is not marked read-only)
and open it. Select InstallExecute row.
3. Select HTMLHELPUpdate
4. Double click in the Condition column and enter FALSE (all caps).
5. Save your changes.

Again though this only seems to work on a silent install. I am using a basic install so that the progress is shown and it is not working on that.
Answered 01/23/2006 by: Xpdite
Orange Belt

Please log in to comment
Answer this question or Comment on this question for clarity