I always assumed that the Managed Install option "Execute before logon (at machine bootup)" meant that the installation would occur as soon as the system had completed boot-up. Apparently that is not the case, since my testing shows that it does *not* install at boot up. Instead, it waits until someone presses ctrl+alt+del before beginning the install, which gets in the way of our users since they have to wait until the installation is finished before the login prompt appears.
Has anyone else experienced this? Does anyone have a work around?

djz
0 Comments   [ + ] Show Comments

Comments

  • This content is currently hidden from public view.
    Reason: Removed by member request
    For more information, visit our FAQ's.
Please log in to comment

Rating comments in this legacy AppDeploy message board thread won't reorder them,
so that the conversation will remain readable.

Answers

0
I usually set my MIs to "execute while user is logged in". That ensures that a user is logged in to receive my pre-install message (otherwise the MI fails) but it doesn't prevent them from working.

Casey
Answered 11/18/2011 by: cmccracken
Orange Senior Belt

Please log in to comment
0
In my case I'm trying to install the Plug-in version of Adobe Flash, and it will fail if Firefox is running, so I need to install it when I'm sure no one is logged in. (it is an MSI package and will install successfully with no user logged in).
Answered 11/18/2011 by: zookdj
Second Degree Blue Belt

Please log in to comment
0
What if you used a batch file in your MI and had it close firefox (if open) as the first thing?

There is also an option to execute while user logged off.

Casey
Answered 11/18/2011 by: cmccracken
Orange Senior Belt

Please log in to comment
0
What exact version of the K1000 server software and Agent was used in your testing?
Also what was the OS of the client?
Answered 11/20/2011 by: KevinG
Purple Belt

Please log in to comment
0
This happens on all client OS editions (XP, Vista, 7).

We are running server version v5.3.47927, agent version 5.3.47657.

I reported this to tech support and they said this is by design: "The managed install action of "Execute before logon" is functioning the way it's been program [sic] too. The information that is within "()" might not be wrong, but maybe a little misleading."

If someone would explain why they chose to do it this way I would appreciate it.
Answered 11/22/2011 by: zookdj
Second Degree Blue Belt

Please log in to comment
0
Did you also check the box to be able to run without anyone logged in? In our web ui, that check box is down 2 or 3 boxes from the "Execute before Login" box.
Answered 11/23/2011 by: tpr
Fifth Degree Brown Belt

Please log in to comment
0
zookdj, do you still have a 5.1 test bed?

FWIW, It could be that 5.3 and 5.1 have a difference of behaviour here. I don't know off the top of my head. But with the port that we did from .net there can be differences. If you can demonstrate a difference from what 5.1 did to what 5.3 now does then that would carry a lot of weight.

If you do see a difference then please reopen your ticket. If you do not then we're talking about an enhancement. Regardless of what the option says changing the behaviour of it would not be a trivial change. Maybe in that case we're looking at a possible additional option to achieve your desired result.
Answered 11/23/2011 by: GillySpy
Seventh Degree Black Belt

Please log in to comment
0
RE: "Execute before Login" checkbox, that option does not appear to be available for managed installs. I did see something similar for scripts though.
Answered 12/09/2011 by: zookdj
Second Degree Blue Belt

Please log in to comment
0
RE: 5.1 test bed, we don't have one, so I can't compare the two. If memory serves, this has been a problem since day one.

Question: how in the world does the agent know when ctl+alt+del is pressed, and why does it wait until then?
Answered 12/09/2011 by: zookdj
Second Degree Blue Belt

Please log in to comment
0

I just heard back from support that this issues is a bug. When an MI is set to install at bootup, it should install before the user gets a chance to press Ctrl+Alt+Del. This statement is true on XP clients. However, Windows 7 clients act different - for some reason. With 5.3 and later, the user selects Ctrl+Alt+Del to login but then KACE kicks in and installs all MI's that are set to install at bootup.

Statement from support: I have been able to confirm your report as a known issue documented as number AGENT-1142. 

Thanks,

Dave

Answered 01/24/2013 by: diverdaveman1
Purple Belt

  • Thanks for the update Dave!
  • This content is currently hidden from public view.
    Reason: Removed by member request
    For more information, visit our FAQ's.
  • Does anyone know when/if this bug is gonna be fixed?
    We are having the same problem in version 5.5.25198.

    Regards
    Steffen
Please log in to comment
Answer this question or Comment on this question for clarity