Hi,

I have an upgrade scenario where I get the below error logged in Event Viewer.

"-- Error 1303.The installer has insufficient privileges to access this directory: C:\Program Files\<instal "

My application is a Word and IE toolbar and the issue occurs during upgrade from older version.

Here are the steps....

1. User has already older version of my toolbars, say 1.0
2. User has opened an IE and Word instance and using the toolbar functionalities
3. LANDesk pushes the latest version to the user machine with "\qn" switch. (here IE and Word is open)
4. Installation completes, but when the user restart IE and Word to see the newer version, both the toolbars gone!!! Actually, the installation failed with Error: 1303 for a particular directory inside INSTALLDIR and it rollbacked everything.

I got a link from Flexera which says we need to close the folders and application (toolbars) in order to get rid of this error.

http://kb.flexerasoftware.com/selfservice/viewContent.do?externalId=Q107600

But, I want the upgrade to happen without asking the user(s) to close down their Word and IE instance.

Is this possible? Please shed some light here.

Thanks,
AT

Note: This issue occurs 2 out of 10 users. Not all the users experience this and infact few user's gets the upgrade working!!!
0 Comments   [ + ] Show Comments

Comments

Please log in to comment

Rating comments in this legacy AppDeploy message board thread won't reorder them,
so that the conversation will remain readable.

Answers

0
I want the upgrade to happen without asking the user(s) to close down their Word and IE instance....in which case, you're going to have to force them closed, with the comcomittent possibility of completely screwing user's documents. They'll enjoy that...

Clearly, the upgrade is trying to replace files which the applications have locked. It's possible - with some clever script - to engineer this but, honestly, isn't it easier to notify your users that an upgrade is schedules for [whenever] and that, if they don't close down their apps, that they may lose some data?
Answered 04/27/2010 by: VBScab
Red Belt

Please log in to comment
0
But, 8 users were able to see their upgrade worked fine, though they have kept their IE and Word open.Why not all the 10 users?
Answered 04/27/2010 by: athirukk
Senior Yellow Belt

Please log in to comment
0
Does every user open exactly the same documents, use the same templates, etc., etc.? No, so the two "orphans" must be using some facility or other which locks a file (or files) that the others don't. Does it matter anyway? If the package is to install a file (or files) which might be locked then you must cater for that situtaion. Advise users that an upgrade is to take place, that their apps must be closed (preferably, the users should be logged off) and that, if they're not, you cannot be responsible for data loss.
Answered 04/28/2010 by: VBScab
Red Belt

Please log in to comment
0
I understand the situation and scenario now. Thanks for the information provided so far and I guess this is what the 'best practice' when SMS or LANDesk upgrades an application. i.e close it down during upgrade.
Answered 04/28/2010 by: athirukk
Senior Yellow Belt

Please log in to comment
Answer this question or Comment on this question for clarity