I recently got the responsibility of self learning my school districts K1000 & 2K000 boxs, and things seem easy enough to figure out and I've had a great deal of success, but I have a question.

consider the following scenario...
I start imaging a lab of computer using Image X with post-install tasks A,B,C, and D.
My colleague across district, unknown to me, Also wishes to use Image X but with only post-install tasks B, and C.

If he attempts to make alterations to the image I just starting bring down in my Lab, will it affect the image I'm bringing down in my lab? Or are the settings I'm wanting to use already queued for these computers? Will the image be locked for him to alter?

Basically imaging happens all over the place here, all the time, but multiple people. Is this a problem?
0 Comments   [ + ] Show Comments

Comments

Please log in to comment

Rating comments in this legacy AppDeploy message board thread won't reorder them,
so that the conversation will remain readable.

Answers

0
If you use the same post-installation tasks in multiple scripted installations, then modification of a post-installation task will modify that task for ALL scripted installs. However, your scenario with Scripted Install X having A, B, C, & D but another Scripted Install (we'll call it Y) using only B & C would work. If you want to be able to modify post-install tasks for a single scripted installation only, then you have to create new post-install tasks for each scripted install.

Does all of that make sense?
Answered 05/11/2011 by: airwolf
Tenth Degree Black Belt

Please log in to comment
0
Yes I understand that you can't modify on the fly post-install tasks. Not exactly what I was asking but thats good to know.

First, (in order to keep things simple until we've had more time to use KACE) we are primarily deploying "system images" not "scripted installs". My question is can someone add/remove post install (or ever pre-install) tasks to my system image and they use it while I'm bring it down on some machines.
Answered 05/11/2011 by: Tentacle Master
Fourth Degree Black Belt

Please log in to comment
0
Being new to KACE myself I don't know if this is the best answer but you could redeploy Image X to a computer with no Post Installation Tasks and then recapture the image as Image Y. If I understand the Dell sales pitch their file de-duplication process wouldn't require any additional disk space on the appliance but would allow you to assign different installation tasks to it. Unless the guys at KACE have a better way of doing this we may have a feature request for the K2000 to include a duplicate option for System Images.
Answered 05/11/2011 by: jrscribner
Purple Belt

Please log in to comment
0
Having 3 copies of an image just because someone may use the same image as me is not really a good solution. Also that wouldnt stop some1 from using the same image as me.

There is a way to duplicate an image image via kace. At the bottom of the 'page' for each image should be the duplicate button, right next to the save button.
Answered 05/11/2011 by: Tentacle Master
Fourth Degree Black Belt

Please log in to comment
0
Thanks for pointing out the duplicate button, I didn't see that... I just mounted our K2000 in the rack yesterday (pretty sure it still has the new server smell) so I'm learning a lot everyday.
Answered 05/11/2011 by: jrscribner
Purple Belt

Please log in to comment
0
since no one is able to give me an answer I will merely conduct the scenario in the OP. I'll report the answers back
Answered 05/12/2011 by: Tentacle Master
Fourth Degree Black Belt

Please log in to comment
0
Ok so i took my image without any post-install tasks and started it on machine1, while it was running I went into the image and added about 10 post-install tasks and started the image on machine2. When I checked each machine they seemed exactly the same and it looked like none of my post-install tasks ran on the second machine. When I went into KACE to view my image it said I had no post-install tasks associated with the image.

I may have made a mistake and not saved so I'm going to run it again.
Answered 05/12/2011 by: Tentacle Master
Fourth Degree Black Belt

Please log in to comment
0
Duplicate is your friend in this scenario. Just name each Scripted Install/Image something different. It will not double/triple/etc. the amount of space on your KBOX, it will simply set up new tasks.
Answered 05/16/2011 by: dyehardfan
Second Degree Blue Belt

Please log in to comment
0
Duplication is indeed your friend here. Due to de-duplication on the K2000 itself you won't be using any extra space. Try naming a duplicated image something that would give pause to others to use (like beginning the image name with "zDO NOT USE - your name - regular image name").

Eric
Answered 06/10/2011 by: ericwalrod
Senior Yellow Belt

Please log in to comment
Answer this question or Comment on this question for clarity

Share